A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

VirtualBox 3.0.4 and Ubuntu Testing

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

VirtualBox 3.0.4 and Ubuntu Testing

Postby augie » Wed Aug 12, 2009 7:14 pm

Well, I found something new to :bashhead and get the blood flowing again. :whistle :lol:

VirtualBox is a very low overhead virtual machine that runs anything but this is only for Ubuntu folks.;) It loads quickly, no need for rebooting either when installing or uninstalling. It is very quirky for me but it's working now after a few days of problems with the client locking up.

At this point the only tips that I can give is to make sure that 4 procs are chosen, 800MB of RAM, 5GB of HDD and bridged networking selected, oh and don't forget to mount the CD/DVD drive to install Ubuntu.

Of course this is for quad users only as I haven't tried it on my X2 dual yet, if it would work at all. One other thing if you're running a GPU2 client then make sure you set VBox'es affinity to first three cores and set the GPU to the last one. There is a command to set GPU to auto use the last or any other core, but I have to find it again.

The PPD increase is quite substantial, from 2K with VMWare to 2.6K with VBox. A decent gain if it works. :confused
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: VirtualBox 3.0.4 and Ubuntu Testing

Postby augie » Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:45 pm

Of course this is for quad users only as I haven't tried it on my X2 dual yet, if it would work at all. One other thing if you're running a GPU2 client then make sure you set VBox'es affinity to first three cores and set the GPU to the last one. There is a command to set GPU to auto use the last or any other core, but I have to find it again.

The PPD increase is quite substantial, from 2K with VMWare to 2.6K with VBox. A decent gain if it works. :confused


Well, I just got this going properly I believe, though time will obviously take its toll if I got it wrong again! :-? :bashhead I'm getting 7/8 min./TPF giving the VM all 4 cores ! The GPU's are set to low priority and the VB is set to idle. Oh, I gave the virtual machine 800MB. I'll do the math here and it simply works out to ~4K PPD!:shocked: Erm, call it double?

Here's a screenie, my quad is not OC'd either. I just hope it's doing good science, not like that driver I posted about last spring which was found to be defective at the least.

Code: Select all
Making 1D domain decomposition 1 x 1 x 4
starting mdrun '22866 system'
34250004 steps,  68500.0 ps (continuing from step 34015020,  68030.0 ps).
[20:55:46] data_01.log
[20:55:46] Verified work/wudata_01.trr
[20:55:46] Verified work/wudata_01.xtc
[20:55:46] Verified work/wudata_01.edr
[20:55:47] Completed 15016 out of 250000 steps  (6%)
[21:03:24] Completed 17500 out of 250000 steps  (7%)
[21:11:08] Completed 20000 out of 250000 steps  (8%)
[21:18:57] Completed 22500 out of 250000 steps  (9%)
[21:26:53] Completed 25000 out of 250000 steps  (10%)
[21:34:45] Completed 27500 out of 250000 steps  (11%)
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron