A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

X-Fi Drivers

X-Fi Drivers

Postby blodger14 » Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:55 pm

hmm, i was kinda hoping to duel boot with linux to see if it is as good as you guys say.

But i have a creative x-fi xtreme music and i was wondering if there were any good 3rd party drivers out for linux?
PRO Level 7

Postby Treihydral » Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:37 pm

Creative has a 64bit Linux beta driver on their site, if that helps you any.

Also check this link out. http://opensource.creative.com/soundcard.html#X-FI
PRO Level 5

Postby blodger14 » Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:12 pm

well then, i guess that answered my question, but now i have a new one.

i have never used linux before except for a suse live cd i have, and im not really sure about it.

so which version of linux would be good for a newbie like me?
PRO Level 7

Postby imnuts » Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:17 am

Ubuntu is a decent starter version that does pretty much everything for you and tries to make it as easy of a transition from Windows as possible. It also allows you to do all the power user stuff if you want to down the road as well. Being based on Debian, you have a lot of programs that will be easy to install, and it's also one of the most secure distros that can be easily installed. If you want to learn all the nitty gritty of linux, then go with Gentoo. It will take you a few hours just to get a base system, but worth it in the end with the stability and speed.
PRO SUPREME

Postby gries818 » Fri Apr 04, 2008 12:22 pm