A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby DEVILSAN » Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:39 am

would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard ASUS M2N-E would need BIOS update ?

or should i buy MSI Z68A and build a new pc
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby Grav!ty » Sun Jun 26, 2011 11:18 am

It appears the ASUS M2N-E is a Socket AM2 motherboard, while the AMD Phenom II x6 CPU requires a Socket AM3 motherboard.

By the way, the MSI Z68A appears to use the Intel Z68 chipset and is therefore intended for an Intel CPU.

You can check out the MSI Socket AM3 motherboards here: http://www.msi.com/product/mb/#/?sk=Socket%20AM3

As far as I can make out, the AMD Phenom II x6 CPU requires DDR 3 RAM which is another consideration before upgrading if you are currently using DDR 2 RAM or slower.
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby DEVILSAN » Sun Jun 26, 2011 1:40 pm

Didnt knew ablout AM sockets ?

what would be AMD Phenom II X6 equivalent in Intel :question

I checked M2N-E CPU Support Listit mentions many that does has support for many X4 but on the right end it also mention this:
Due to Bios ROM size limitation remove LAN PXE ROM and change Crashfree3 to Crashfree
dont have any clue what crashfree they are talking about to change


however i guess AMD Phenom X4 9950 would work as it mentioned AM2 Socket !!!
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby augie » Sun Jun 26, 2011 1:59 pm

The Intel hexacore is way too expensive! Some $900 still ATM. :shocked: Ya to what Graham said. You need BIOS 1504 to run the X4 in that board. Gotta love AMD for keeping to one socket with that whole range of CPU's unlike Intel, who seem to put out 3 CPU's for each socket, even though I'm obviously an Intel man, for now.

Equivalent Intel to an AMD X6 is perhaps an i5 in performance, best is a medium i7@3.8GHz performance when the x6 is overclocked until it's bleeding! It's all in the Intel hyper threading tech, it's like I have 8 cores but only 4 physical ones exist.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby DEVILSAN » Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:29 pm

I think AMD Phenom X4 9950 would be the best buy as far i researched google . please have your comments
it would cost me around $ 178 US.
I also watched [url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sm1pr58Uh5I"]this[/url] video on youtube however doesnt talks about compatibility their !!!
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby augie » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:37 am

DEVILSAN wrote:I think AMD Phenom X4 9950 would be the best buy as far i researched google . please have your comments
it would cost me around $ 178 US.
I also watched [url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sm1pr58Uh5I"]this[/url] video on youtube however doesnt talks about compatibility their !!!
How much would it cost you for a i5/i7 + the MSI board you mentioned in your first post? No one has stock of the 9950 anymore so I can't even check the price. The Intel Sandy Bridge is the way to go if you want sheer power, mine is overclocked to 4.7GHz and it just chews up anything that I throw at it! Mind you, it's not cheap @ $340 + motherboard and RAM.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby augie » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:48 am

wOW MAN, PRICES ARE STEEP WHERE YOU LIVE AS x6 tHUBAN 1100t IS $200 over here. Sorry about the caps, I think I'll rip that key off right now!
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby DEVILSAN » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:58 pm

augie wrote:wOW MAN, PRICES ARE STEEP WHERE YOU LIVE AS x6 tHUBAN 1100t IS $200 over here. Sorry about the caps, I think I'll rip that key off right now!
ATM, I am in India.
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby DEVILSAN » Mon Jun 27, 2011 3:51 pm

augie wrote:
DEVILSAN wrote:I think AMD Phenom X4 9950 would be the best buy as far i researched google . please have your comments
it would cost me around $ 178 US.
I also watched [url="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sm1pr58Uh5I"]this[/url] video on youtube however doesnt talks about compatibility their !!!
How much would it cost you for a i5/i7 + the MSI board you mentioned in your first post? No one has stock of the 9950 anymore so I can't even check the price. The Intel Sandy Bridge is the way to go if you want sheer power, mine is overclocked to 4.7GHz and it just chews up anything that I throw at it! Mind you, it's not cheap @ $340 + motherboard and RAM.



Sandy Bridge ? is thew series out now [url="http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2379241,00.asp"]with the glitch[/url] ot without
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Re: would adding AMD Phenom II x6 processor to a motherboard

Postby kd1966 » Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:19 am

I'm still holding out for an AMD x8/12 processor..................... :shocked: ................ and then getting a dual socket MOBO with a pair.......... :drool: It can happen................ :geek:
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Return to Hardware and Customizing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests