A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Winutuxu is warez and Windows to Linux swithcers post

Postby c0ldfyr3 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 3:12 pm

your linux file systems should be as follows

/ -- root directory
/var -- tmp directory
/home -- home directory ( like "My Documents" )
/boot -- Boot loader files
/swap -- your swap space ( like pagefile )

each directory on its own partition



however in ubuntu you can get away with using just the root directory and it will create a file structure such as :
/home
/var
/boot
and your swap you still sill not see. All directories will be on the same partition
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby DEVILSAN » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:15 am

if i could have my internt running in Linux i installed that could have solved my most of my problem, i can only access internet through WIFI and isnt their an easy way to install applications on linux or do i hav e to always go to terminal command line
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Postby c0ldfyr3 » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:58 am

whats your wifi card? if you can give me make model and model #... also if you know whether its an Atheros card or not that will help...

i can walk you through the install procedure for your card..
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby DEVILSAN » Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:06 am

that would be so nice of you, thanks

it is wireless Ethernet (Onboard Intel Pro wireless 2200BG)card though i mentioned it earlier. but right now i am logged in windows xp
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Postby c0ldfyr3 » Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:20 am

Procedure to enable WPA Wireless in Ubuntu

To update the source list run the following command
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install wpasupplicant

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install network-manager-gnome network-manager

Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces


Comment out everything other than
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby c0ldfyr3 » Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:29 am

If you still have an issue then you need to enable the radio....


The problem? The card radio was off. It turned out that a
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby DEVILSAN » Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:36 am

ok cool, i will do it for that i have to login to Linux now so i would now logoff, but before that i would say if you can remotely login to my machine it will really solve my most of the problems coz this is taking my time that i have to put in what i work in.

that would be sweet if their be a simple application in wihch we point out the installable setup and it installs the program and place shortcut on desktop.
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Postby c0ldfyr3 » Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:51 am

well in general i would suggest that you get VMWare and use it to test and build Linux installs... you can actually set up a partition on your hard drive and sue it to install directly to. then when you get it all working you can create a boot disk for grub to install and let it detect your Linux install on the partition and add it to the boot loader... this is how i started, and it works really well; however, i also started with Debian Sarge Net install. (ubuntu is derived from debian ).
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Previous

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron