A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Winutuxu is warez and Windows to Linux swithcers post

Postby DEVILSAN » Mon Jun 30, 2008 4:13 am

c0ldfyr3 wrote:what Distro are you using?
fedora @ workplace and will install kubuntu on my laptop.
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Postby c0ldfyr3 » Mon Jun 30, 2008 4:40 am

Install NTFS write support for Fedora Core 6

- You'll need to be root for this guide. If you're already logged-in as root, skip typing su -
- First, install ntfs-3g:
Code: Select all

# su -
# yum -y install ntfs-3g

This will install ntfs-3g, fuse and fuse-libs

- Create a folder to be used as mounting point for NTFS partition:
Code: Select all

# mkdir /mnt/ntfs


- Find out what's the NTFS partition. Type this command (the fdisk option is a small L):
Code: Select all

# fdisk -l


- Look for a line like this
Code: Select all

/dev/hda3 * 14925 17218 18426555 c HTFS/NTFS

/dev/hda3 is your NTFS partition. It could be /dev/sdaX if you have a S-ATA drive.

- Edit /etc/fstab and add this line at the end so that the partition will be mounted at startup:
- Remember to use your /device, /dev/hda3 is just an example.
Code: Select all

/dev/hda3 /mnt/ntfs_p ntfs-3g defaults,umask=0 0 0


- Disable SELinux. Edit /etc/selinux/config and change the line:
Code: Select all

SELINUX=restrictive


to

Code: Select all

SELINUX=disabled


or if you're a security paranoid and don't want to fully disable SELinux, change the line to:
Code: Select all

SELINUX=permissive

otherwise, mounting the partitions will fail.

- Reboot and enjoy your NTFS partition in /mnt/ntfs_p


Install NTFS write support for Ubuntu

- Edit /etc/apt/sources.list and add the following repositories, which are suitable for you:

If you're running Dapper, add:

Code: Select all

deb http://givre.cabspace.com/ubuntu/ dapper main main-all
deb http://ntfs-3g.sitesweetsite.info/ubuntu/ dapper main main-all
deb http://flomertens.keo.in/ubuntu/ dapper main main-all


If you're running Edgy, add:

Code: Select all

deb http://givre.cabspace.com/ubuntu/ edgy main
deb http://ntfs-3g.sitesweetsite.info/ubuntu/ edgy main
deb http://flomertens.keo.in/ubuntu/ edgy main


- Import the GPG key for these repositories:
Code: Select all

# wget http://flomertens.keo.in/ubuntu/givre_key.asc -O- | sudo apt-key add -
# wget http://givre.cabspace.com/ubuntu/givre_key.asc -O- | sudo apt-key add -


- Update the source list:
Code: Select all

# sudo apt-get update


- Install ntfs-3g:
Code: Select all

# sudo apt-get install ntfs-3g


- Determine which is the NTFS partition. Type this command and look for the line ending with HTFS/NTFS. The fdisk option is a small L.
Code: Select all

# fdisk -l


- Create a directory where the NTFS partition will be mounted on:
Code: Select all

# mkdir /media/ntfs_p


- Add the following line to /etc/fstab file:
Code: Select all

/dev/hda3 /media/ntfs_p ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0


- If you want to change the locale option, type this command to find out which are supported by your system and pick the appropriate one:
Code: Select all

# locale -a


- Save the file and reboot.
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby DEVILSAN » Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:16 am

well i formatted my d drive to ext2 , my windows xp didnt detect it, and now when i formated it to ext3 it still doesnt detect it , why when i remember that i have ext2 partition at my workplace on my computer, i used partioition magic 8 to format the drive.

i have another question , i have got the kubuntu burnt on a cd so now when i install it will i get OS selection option as to to choose between windows xp and Kubuntu or i not..?
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Postby DEVILSAN » Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:30 am

ok i instsalled Ext2IFS_1_11.exe and got my Ext3 partition workin and visible in xp too sp , now i still have one query left , will i see OS selection menu between xp & Kubuntu , i dont want to take chance to loose (make xp invisible) the XP which i want to keep as primary OS.
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Postby c0ldfyr3 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:28 am

when you install kubuntu, it shouold install grub as the default boot loader. Grub should detect that there is another loader ( for XP ) and allow you to boo tto taht if you wish.. if for some reason it doesn't you can add it to the boot loader menu later.
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby DEVILSAN » Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:39 am

c0ldfyr3 wrote:when you install kubuntu, it shouold install grub as the default boot loader. Grub should detect that there is another loader ( for XP ) and allow you to boo tto taht if you wish.. if for some reason it doesn't you can add it to the boot loader menu later.
tell me in advance , how do i add it to boot loader menu later, i was reading the topic of GRUB on it site though
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Postby DEVILSAN » Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:29 am

when installing Kubuntu , i got this message No Root file system is defined, Please correct in this from partition menu.

and behind that prompt i have this partition menu that shows up 5 NTFS partiton and one ext3 partition, i choose ext3 partition and on clicking the next (Forward) i get the above mentioned message . i choose ext3 partiton which is called sda5 and choose edit partition where options are

New Partion size 21 GB
use as Ext3 journaling file system
Ext2 file system
bla,
bla partition...
do not use the partition

option to give mount point / { }

what should i do to go further ?

/// btw what is mount point in linux system ?
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

Postby c0ldfyr3 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:35 am

1. backup menu.ls:
Code: Select all
sudo cp /boot/grub/menu.lst /boot/grub/menu.lst-backup

2. edit menu.ls:
Code: Select all
sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst



now this is what you want the contents of menu.lst to look like ( change the drive parameters as needed )


Code: Select all
default 1

timeout 10

title Microsoft Windows XP Professional
root (hd0,1)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader +1

title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.17-10-generic
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/sda5 ro quiet splash
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
quiet
savedefault
boot

title Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.17-10-generic (recovery mode)
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/sda5 ro single
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
boot

title Ubuntu, memtest86+
root (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin
quiet
boot


I have installed Ubuntu several times, and every time grub adds the XP install to the menu.
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1346
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1

Postby Absolute-Zero » Tue Jul 01, 2008 7:56 am

DEVILSAN wrote:btw what is mount point in linux system ?

The mount point in Linux is a "directory" in the filesystem that a partition or drive will be mounted as. For example,

/ is the root directory. Under root there are various sub-directories, as usual, one of these is /dev. In normal *nix installations, a seperate partition is created on the hdd and mounted under the /dev directory. You can mount drives/partitions under any folder you like by using the mount command and/or adding an entry for them in the /etc/fstab file.

It's, pretty much, the same as mounting a drive or partition as a folder in Windows.
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 2495
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Forever blowing bubbles...
Real Name: Dan

Postby DEVILSAN » Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:37 am

their are challenges ahead coz i am novice into linux environment though i have finished installing Kubuntu it failed to detect my Wireless Ethernet card, forcing me to log on to windows xp to communicate with you. ,

so how do i install wireless ethernet (Onboard Intel Pro wireless 2200BG)card


beside this after installation i found the bios time is taken back by 7 hours and now i edited time in after loging in to xp too maybe i have to edit in bios of my laptop.

hooh.. Linux is complex than Windows and hard to adopt i understand why microsoftt still leads the market, Open Source OS Distro of Linux are being foreced on to consumer by giving a pre-installed OS i guess.
Last edited by DEVILSAN on Tue Jul 01, 2008 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PRO Level 13
User avatar
Posts: 751
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 6:17 pm
Location: Canada
Real Name: san luthra

PreviousNext

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron