A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Windows Home Server - Topics of Interest

Windows Home Server - Topics of Interest

Postby NT50 » Sat Oct 27, 2007 4:48 am

It all started below and now we are moving/expanding to Windows Support for Windows Home Server

Windows Home Server RC discussion



Feel free to post here about WHS - Windows Home Server
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby shreader » Sat Oct 27, 2007 1:32 pm

Thank you for getting the (WHS) ball rolling over here Jeff ^*^


I installed WHS RTM OEM on the P3 test rig that i am using for this purpose, it took 1hr, 25min. to complete, there were a few references to Server 2003, no biggie, WHS installed just fine.

Activated it over the internet & am good-to-go.
Windows Updates were installed including IE7 for Server 2003 w/ its (default) strict security settings.

Setup of my WHS Web Page was easy as was the remote access... WHS detected my (Actiontec MI-424-WR) router settings, the add-ins that i installed worked fine too.

Last night I ran a complete Vista Home Premium -System Restore- successfully, see details & tip HERE.
It only took 14 minutes to finish.

I am very happy w/ WHS RTM ^*^

Edit:
I just finished backing up the main rig, this one took 5hr, 48min.
On WHS i now have 177GB of storage space used & its in the process of 'balancing', i've read this can take a while.

Edit2:
The balancing took less than 2 hrs.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby shreader » Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:46 pm

Finally the long awaited Windows Home Server 120-Day Evaluation Kit is available ^*^

C/P from page:
To install the Windows Home Server 120-Day Evaluation Kit, you need:

Computer with 1 GHz Pentium III (or equivalent) or faster processor

512 MB of RAM or more

70 GB or larger ATA, SATA, or SCSI hard drive as the primary hard drive and any number of additional hard drives of any size

DVD drive
Last edited by shreader on Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby NT50 » Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:26 pm

Finally, I don't need the 120 day one :) My full version jsut arrived today so I will be backing up my data to my Vista machine, taking it offline, redoing everything. I will be using one 150 gig, two 320 gig and my new 400 gig hard drive. I am not sure if I am going to partition my 150 gig like last time. I really want the system to be separate from the data drives this time. I think. Anyway I should have enough storage with the two 320s and the one 400.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby NT50 » Sat Nov 03, 2007 11:18 pm

Got my Software in, reformatted all drives due to I did not want anything left on them (backedup first) and installed WHS. It was straight forward as mentioned by JD. When I was finished with all updates I have 1.16 TB of storage. Yea haw time to start backing up.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby kd1966 » Sun Nov 04, 2007 2:52 am

I don't have the full version yet, but I am interested in getting it, as I was involved in the beta testing. I will probably try the 120 day to see if it is improved over the beta versions I used.

I hope MS didn't waste their time with this one............... I just don't see most "average" folks needing/wanting this
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby Nativedude » Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:38 am

I see the common folk "needing" it for backups
But unless it comes bundled with another PC purchase I don't see the common folk getting it

Now media junkies and others like us yeah
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 9:59 pm
Location: Historical Yorktown, Virginia USA
Real Name: Adam Durham

Postby shreader » Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:15 pm

Here is a tip if anyone is planning on changing out the storage Hdd on their Windows Home Server PC.

Friday I decided to switch out the slave Hdd on the WHS PC, guess what
Last edited by shreader on Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby shreader » Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:39 am

I ran the WHS backup (manual) on the Main Rig & Main Test Rig.

Tonight i setup some folders w/ photos for my Costa Rica vacation & made them public at My WHS website.

I also viewed the Main Rig's Backup on WHS from the Main Rig.
Since i have 2 drives & 4 partitions i chose the one w/ the most in it= the 'Storage' drive w/ 103GB in it. WHS took 25 minutes to open the backup & it appears that everything is there, its cool that one can just copy a folder or a file from the backup to another PC (manually) if its needed.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby NT50 » Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:45 pm

I need to look into my backups and see what is going on with them. Guess I am up to some reading on how to do so.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Next

Return to General Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest