A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Windows Home Server - Topics of Interest

Postby NT50 » Thu May 22, 2008 7:50 pm

I'm signed up.............................. and accepted...........................
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby shreader » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:44 pm

NT50 wrote:I'm signed up.............................. and accepted...........................


Same here ^*^

It must be getting close to the release time as @ Connect they put up a new download (.docx), its 24 pages.
The copy I just Dl does have a few formatting problems :lol:

"Windows Home Server Power Pack 1 Public Beta Release Documentation (Draft)"

EDIT:
Here is the links & more document choices:
Download Documentation:

.doc Format - https://connect.microsoft.com/WindowsHo ... adID=12549

.docx Format - https://connect.microsoft.com/WindowsHo ... adID=12532

.pdf Format - https://connect.microsoft.com/WindowsHo ... adID=12554
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby shreader » Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:57 pm

What's New in Windows Home Server Power Pack 1!
Tom Ziegmann [MSFT] 05 Jun 2008


Hey everybody, as you all know, the public release of Windows Home Server Power Pack 1 Release Candidate 4 is nearing. I
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby shreader » Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:50 pm

Power Pack 1 is available now at Connect

Here is the version information
Image


Its available as a update or integrated in a evaluation version.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby shreader » Sun Aug 17, 2008 1:26 pm

I finally got around to trying a OS complete restore after installing WHS PP1. This time I restored Vista x64 to a partition w/ a newer MS OS on it.

It was a bit of a task as I had to get a new RestoreCD & the WHS restoreCD download happened to be a .MSI file instead of a .ISO (also the readme.txt file was-not-included w/ the Dl).

I did find the info on converting the .msi to a .iso so it would boot off a CD.


Excerpt from the release documentation:

1. Download the package from Microsoft Connect.
2. On a home computer, run the included Windows Installer package (RestoreCD.MSI) to install it on your home computer
3. The installation program will put the ISO for the Home Computer Restore CD (Dual Boot) on your computer at the default location of [Your user's Document directory]\Windows Home Server Home Computer Restore CD (Dual Boot) (e.g. C:\Users\[username]\Documents\Windows Home Server Home Computer Restore CD (Dual Boot))
4. You will need to use software to burn the ISO file onto a blank CD before you can use it.



Success
After hitting 'Next' the installer said 21 minutes to completion, it actually took 26 minutes, thats ok though as Vista x64 installed the same as previously, activated & w/ my software I like, all working.
Last edited by shreader on Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby NT50 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:21 pm

Cool Glad ya got it going.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby NT50 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:13 pm

Help.............

I switched ISPs and now my Homeserver can not be acessed via the internet. All I did was change the provider, I am using the same fiber optics as before. Of course I got a new IP and so on, the ISP said everything is wide open on there side.

I have checked and reconfigured the router and more.

I CAN access it via typingin my IP address over the net just not the domain name. When I type in the domain name it refers back to the OLD IP address that I did have.

How can I remedy this problem.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby shreader » Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:12 am

I just checked your CTS link that I have bookmarked & get "Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage".


Maybe a shut down of the router & PC then a start-up would help?

In WHS settings/ Remote Access/ Router Status = working?
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6549
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Postby NT50 » Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:41 am

Done it all

No it can not verify it

I know it is not my router due to fact I can access at school by typing in the IP address.

I will PM you and you check.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby NT50 » Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:38 pm

I posted on MS WHS forum and this was the reply so far. I ran it to no avail. I am going to give them a while to update their DNS after running the command.

You could remote into your server, then using Windows Explorer, navigate to the program Files -Windows Home Server, and double-click the 'ddns.ex' file, this is Microsoft's dynamic updater and should trigger an IP update. If it doesn't, then the next step is to try going into the Setting page of the Console, and in the Remote Access section, then in the Domain Name, select the Unconfigure button, after it then changes, select it again, (it will now be Configure), that should update the settings.


We will see. If worse comes to worse I may even wipe out WHS and start it over.

Edit:
BTW

The command is ddnss.exe
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

PreviousNext

Return to General Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron
cron