A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Prev, RC & RTM

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Thu May 13, 2010 2:23 pm

shreader wrote:No I haven't even looked there yet.

I suppose I was assuming that Vail would automatically set-up everything when it was setting up the RA.


I just tried messing with it and that is what I kinda decided it was trying to do when you attempt to set up the Remote Access, that it is trying to fill in the spaces. drat thought I had found something.

At any rate when I filled in the spaces it gives me an error message of "Could not connect to the specified computer. Details: Unable to connect to the remoter server"
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Thu May 13, 2010 2:33 pm

Well.. the backup & restore works anyway :lol:

It’s a pity that MS didn’t include the "Vail Reviewers Guide" w/ the download or make one available... hopefully one will show-up sometime, the steps in the WHS v.1 "Reviewers Guide" were very helpful.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Thu May 13, 2010 5:21 pm

shreader wrote:Well.. the backup & restore works anyway :lol:

It’s a pity that MS didn’t include the "Vail Reviewers Guide" w/ the download or make one available... hopefully one will show-up sometime, the steps in the WHS v.1 "Reviewers Guide" were very helpful.


Holy Crap I would have said something else, but this is a family friendly site.

JD I figured it out and it is so easy, duhhhhhhhh man do I feel well you know LOL

On the Console, "Add a user account" it asks for your name, it suggests a user name you can either accept or create your own, create a password and then bingo, happy dance ^*^
Image



After adding a computer.
Image
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Fri May 14, 2010 1:53 am

I may be missing something here...

I added a user account awhile back to the dashboard, but it never helped w/ RA, I can use the Shared Folders though & Homegroup.

Is this what you are referring to?

Image
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Fri May 14, 2010 3:30 am

First I did the port forwarding in the router, forwarding the ports 49152 external to 65535 internal and 49153 extermal to 65534 internal, both pointing to the ip address of the Home Server maybe overkill forwarding twice, but what the heck.

After that I created the user account as described and then used the browser on another computer to go to https://username.homeserver.com, (with the username being the Domain name you used) which is where you then enter the new user and password, which logged me in remotely.
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Sat May 15, 2010 2:53 pm

Ahhh finally the weekend ^*^

yeshuas wrote:First I did the port forwarding in the router, forwarding the ports 49152 external to 65535 internal and 49153 extermal to 65534 internal, both pointing to the ip address of the Home Server maybe overkill forwarding twice, but what the heck.



I need to forward those posts then?
In my port forwarding tab I see this (@ the bottom of a huge list):

Image
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Sat May 15, 2010 3:11 pm

I just chose those ports as they are like toward the very end of the ports in my router, and from what I have read the least likely to be used by or interfere with anything else.

The picture you showed is that how the setup pages of your router look?
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Sat May 15, 2010 5:41 pm

This is my Firewall Settings/ Port Forwarding page:

Image
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Sat May 15, 2010 5:57 pm

I also forgot to mention that one of the first things I did was to Reserve the IP address for WHS Vail, which happened to be 192.168.1.110; just in case, so it would not change for any reason. Then I did the port forwarding as I said choosing numbers toward the end of the list I found in Wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_TC ... rt_numbers as suggested by imnuts, I chose from the Dynamic and/or private ports: 49152–65535

I like my port forwarding page, it looks simpler to me
Image
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Sun May 16, 2010 1:54 am

Thanks for the tips & pointers Daniel :notworthy

I forwarded, tested, retested, forwarded, tested, retested, forwarded, tested, retested, forwarded, tested & retested
Waisted most of the day pounding away @ Vail.


This is what it has boiled down to "no alerts" (looks like a bug to me) :lol:

Image

:bashhead :bashhead :bashhead :wave:
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6592
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

PreviousNext

Return to Alpha / Beta Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron