A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Prev, RC & RTM

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Sun May 09, 2010 5:03 pm

Changing this (router firewall) setting made the WHS Alert go away but I still cannot connect to my XXX.homeserver.com page

Image

So I changed the setting back to where is was before... Typical.

Well at least Vail will backup the PCs & restore them, here :uhhh

*on my router port forwarding page there are about 50 listings of what are tweaked already.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6538
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Sun May 09, 2010 5:18 pm

I forgot my computer has a dual GB lan so I connected another lan cable and I deleted and am reinstalling the Vail server in a VHD to see if there is any difference
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Sun May 09, 2010 5:32 pm

Still getting the same message trying to access the webpage.

Image
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby imnuts » Sun May 09, 2010 5:49 pm

I'm on just consumer Verizon FiOS service, nothing special and I can get to both the HTTP and HTTPS pages. I'm not testing the new homeserver software though, so I don't know if there are any bugs related to accessing the online pages that it has with it though.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Mon May 10, 2010 9:22 pm

I hope this doesn't require logging in to view this but it mentions or is about Remote Access Challenges LOL challenges oh yeah

http://windowsteamblog.com/blogs/window ... enges.aspx
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Wed May 12, 2010 2:51 pm

Thanks for the link Daniel.

After you posted the link...
I Dl, saved, printed out a copy, read & highlighted some parts for future reference.

It appears that w/ this version only a preview build there are still some parts of it that still need some work.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6538
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Wed May 12, 2010 2:57 pm

Are you able to remotely access yours, either while on the same network, or from outside the network?

All I have tried so far is while at home, so maybe, I will run to the library and try to access it from there and see if I have any better luck. :roleeyes
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Wed May 12, 2010 7:26 pm

yeshuas wrote:Are you able to remotely access yours, either while on the same network, or from outside the network?


Neither works for me accessing my ... homeserver.com webpage
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6538
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby yeshuas » Thu May 13, 2010 1:17 pm

Have you done anything on any of these pages e.g. although I am not sure what to enter :oops:

Image
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Windows Home Server code name "Vail" Public Preview is now a

Postby shreader » Thu May 13, 2010 2:12 pm

No I haven't even looked there yet.

I suppose I was assuming that Vail would automatically set-up everything when it was setting up the RA.
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6538
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

PreviousNext

Return to Alpha / Beta Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
cron