A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Windows Home Server Beta 2

Postby yeshuas » Thu Mar 01, 2007 9:11 pm

The Phoenix wrote:It's certainly not as good as I thought, I assumed they would build a stripped down and updated version of Server 2003 which is a very good server os and tailor it for Home Users. This seems to put too much emphasis on backups and not enough on the rest of the functions a home user might want, the connector cd thing does not work properly either, lets hope they fix a number of these things in builds to come. Now if only I could get on the Longhorn Server Beta......


So in your opinion Windows Server 2003 would be better even for a home server, than this Home Server?

How about setting it up in Virtual PC 2007 for a trial?
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Postby e to the x » Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:23 pm

Got my invited today :) I decided I am going to use my AMD rig for this challenge. Athlon 2400 T-Bred, 1 GB of RAM, 120 GB IDE HDD. Might throw in my raptors but the case has only a 300 W PSU so I don't want to push it too much. We shall see.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby kd1966 » Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:49 am

FYI......... don't throw in any drives that have data on them you want to keep............ WHS will format them all
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby e to the x » Fri Mar 02, 2007 1:57 am

Yeah only one drive on this system.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby yeshuas » Fri Mar 02, 2007 3:29 am

yeshuas wrote:
The Phoenix wrote:It's certainly not as good as I thought, I assumed they would build a stripped down and updated version of Server 2003 which is a very good server os and tailor it for Home Users. This seems to put too much emphasis on backups and not enough on the rest of the functions a home user might want, the connector cd thing does not work properly either, lets hope they fix a number of these things in builds to come. Now if only I could get on the Longhorn Server Beta......


So in your opinion Windows Server 2003 would be better even for a home server, than this Home Server?

How about setting it up in Virtual PC 2007 for a trial?


What about Server 2003? It requires install from boot. Will I still be able to choose where to install e.g. in a virtual HD. Or will it in format and install wherever it decides?
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Postby kd1966 » Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:20 am

No, I believe with server2K3 you can pick/choose, just like any other OS; I had the 120 day trial of Server 2003R2 and it was just like installing Server2000, which is just like installing 2000 Pro.........except for when you boot to the desktop and set up the server stuff
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby yeshuas » Fri Mar 02, 2007 5:10 am

I hope so I would like to try it at least and see if it fits. I run a small business out of my house and am on the road a lot it would be nice to connect more readily remotely etc. You know connect with test machines and the like
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Postby kd1966 » Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:21 pm

That's probably the tact MS is attempting to take here, although with the web version of Live Office (Or Office Live) out there, I think they probably cut into their own market a bit
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby Logicalx » Sat Mar 03, 2007 11:07 pm

got my invite going to setup my spare comp looking forward to see it in action
LOGiCALX
Ex-ProNet Staff (GFX)
PRO Level 12
Posts: 514
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: //Earth/UK
Real Name: Dean

Postby McBlzr » Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:12 am

JabbaPapa wrote:I plan on building a dedicated box for this one --- it's looking sweeter and sweeter the more I read about it ! :drool:



I found a brand new server case at a GoodWill Thrift shop for $ 19.99, so I think I'll give it a try in this box with one of my many extra HD's. ^*^
ImageImageImageImage

Doc says "Back to The Future" with Windows Vista (LongHorn)!!!
Doc says "The Future isn't written Yet" with WINDOWS 7
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 268
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 4:51 am
Location: Somewhere in the Hot AZ. Desert!

PreviousNext

Return to Alpha / Beta Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest