A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby BILLMCC66 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:56 pm

Is Yeshuas in trouble?
He has dropped off the pace, I know our PPDs have fallen lately but Stanford keeps hitting me with 511 point WUs and they take longer to process.
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby yeshuas » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:15 pm

BILLMCC66 wrote:Is Yeshuas in trouble?
He has dropped off the pace, I know our PPDs have fallen lately but Stanford keeps hitting me with 511 point WUs and they take longer to process.

My system is dealing me fits for the last couple of days. Yesterday my Internet was acting up, so I am sure my WU's were not sent correctly, if at all. :bashhead
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby augie » Fri Jan 16, 2009 5:09 pm

Ya @ the 511s and add to that an a1 SMP which takes 2 days to fold so I went from 10.5K to 6K for a day. It is getting better today. ^*^ We have to expect that and hopefully just once in a while.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby kd1966 » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:00 am

I just got 2 CPU's on my Phenom X4 running the core............ also have BOTH cores on my X2-4200 back up and running the cores as well........... not to mention my Athlon XP 3200+ that was not running the cores for some reason............ :question Anyhow, the next few weeks should be pretty interesting............ and I still need to find some documentation on isolating the GPU in my 9800GTX for folding..... :drool:
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby augie » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:38 am

and I still need to find some documentation on isolating the GPU in my 9800GTX for folding.....


Not sure what you mean there by 'isolating' Kev. :confused Anyways, this should be interesting as you're coming in with a farm! ^*^
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby kd1966 » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:48 am

I'm using the CLI client and I did not see anything where I could point to the video card gpu; I'm obviously doing this incorrectly, so I'll look it up this weekend ^*^
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby augie » Sat Jan 17, 2009 5:58 am

kd1966 wrote:I'm using the CLI client and I did not see anything where I could point to the video card gpu; I'm obviously doing this incorrectly, so I'll look it up this weekend ^*^


You have to use the GPU2 from here. IT's also a CLI, I would at least stop the current one until you set it up properly, needs a new folder too to keep it separate from what you have running now.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby kd1966 » Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:08 am

Oh........ ok; that's kinda what I do on my multi processor systems anyhow - separate folders (On the Vista and Win7 system anyway) for the FAH client. Can't wait to start! ^*^
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby augie » Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:09 am

kd1966 wrote:Oh........ ok; that's kinda what I do on my multi processor systems anyhow - separate folders (On the Vista and Win7 system anyway) for the FAH client. Can't wait to start! ^*^


You got the idea.;) :yesnod: BTW, you run SMP on your multicores? I assume you don't have a suitable vid card except for the GTX
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Welcome to our new Folding@Home Home

Postby kd1966 » Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:13 am

augie wrote:
kd1966 wrote:Oh........ ok; that's kinda what I do on my multi processor systems anyhow - separate folders (On the Vista and Win7 system anyway) for the FAH client. Can't wait to start! ^*^


You got the idea.;) :yesnod: BTW, you run SMP on your multicores?


Not sure what you mean......... (SMP) :question I mean I HAVE symmetric multiprocessors.......... and they "run"....... :lol:

Also, I just discovered my X1600XT is NOT supported by this............doh! I'll get to the 9800GTX in the morning
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

PreviousNext

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron