A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

VistaBootPRO Bug Reporting Thread

Forum rules
This forum is meant for support of PRO Software only. PROnetworks reserves the right to edit any topic title to better explain the contents of a post. We also may move your post to a more suitable forum if necessary.

It may take our support staff up to 24 hours to respond to your problem. We appreciate your patience.

Postby Pommard » Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:52 pm

kd1966 wrote:Pommard, your configuration may not be strange, but it is "uncommon" among the 'average' user; most folks are not mixing IDE and SATA drives at this point, and to make matters worse, there is a known issue using IDE and SATA drives to dual boot (Or even multi boot). Making your setup even more complex is your Fedora........... but there is a way to get them all working, although the only way I've personally seen it done is with SATA only or IDE only, not a mixture of the two


Thank You for the quick reply. I will use the system the way I have it setup, until I can get hold of a Raptor to move Fedora over. Then the system will be only SATA. Again thank You.
PRO New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:19 pm
Location: NEW YORK

Postby molitar » Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:21 pm

Whenever I try to run the diagnostics the application crashes with.

Code: Select all
See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.ArgumentOutOfRangeException: Index and count must refer to a location within the string.
Parameter name: count
   at System.String.Remove(Int32 startIndex, Int32 count)
   at PROnetworks_100001.BCD.FileParse3..ctor()
   at VistaBootPRO.VistaBootPRO.AYQxiUkWP7uBmB8OMZcSmv4jUh(Object , EventArgs )
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
ezencryption_lib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/mscorlib/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
License
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/mscorlib/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
ziplib
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/mscorlib/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
VistaBootPRO
    Assembly Version: 3.1.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/mscorlib/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
XPExplorerBar
    Assembly Version: 3.3.0.0
    Win32 Version: 3.3.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/PROnetworks/VistaBootPRO%203.1/XPExplorerBar.DLL
----------------------------------------
PROnetworks-100003
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/PROnetworks/VistaBootPRO%203.1/PROnetworks-100003.DLL
----------------------------------------
PROnetworks-100001
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/PROnetworks/VistaBootPRO%203.1/PROnetworks-100001.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Management
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.312 (rtmLHS.050727-3100)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Management/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Management.dll
----------------------------------------
PROnetworks-100002
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/PROnetworks/VistaBootPRO%203.1/PROnetworks-100002.DLL
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system>
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:18 pm

Postby jbullard » Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:42 pm

molitar,

Thank you for letting us know. We have identified this problem with VistaBootPRO v.3.1 and have already corrected it in the upcoming release. Please check for updates throughout the next couple of weeks.

Also, if there is a specific reason you are running diagnostics please let us know so we can help you correct that problem as well.

Thanks again.
Jason
VP - Software
User avatar
Posts: 3653
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Utah
Real Name: Jason Bullard

Postby molitar » Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:10 am

Well I ran diagnostics because even tho it was installed and could find the two operating systems it would report that the vista ultimate had no drive letter. So I figured I would run it to see what it reported..

It took me 2-3 attempts reparing the boot section by booting up to the Vista Disk before it finally would boot with the boot loader and not the old MCE boot.ini. But after several attempts my boot was finally fixed correctly by Vista and my dual boot works again. So seems even the Vista boot repair option even has a few bugs of it's own.
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 6:18 pm

Postby kd1966 » Mon Feb 26, 2007 1:14 pm

That is true molitar; the Vista "Repair my Computer" option is actually very limited in what it can repair. Hope MS can give this tool an 'update' soon........
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby Saari » Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:11 am

VistaBootPRO 3.1.0.0 looks really ugly with larger scale (120 dpi) fonts on Vista. E.g. on "Manage OS Entries" labels cover drive letters so they get hidden.
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:43 am

Postby jbullard » Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:44 am

Saari,

Thanks for the information. We had an instance of the same thing with another member last year and could not locate the problem. However, we are glad to announce that the upcoming version will not adjust with larger scale DPI's. It will remain the same. Make sure you check for updates often as the next version (Final) is coming up on it's release date.

HTH,
Jason
VP - Software
User avatar
Posts: 3653
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Utah
Real Name: Jason Bullard

Postby Sweetie » Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:08 am

Exception error Vista BotPro 3.1:

Setup:

Vista 64 retail with ASUS P5W DH motherboard, 4 gig memory.

Have memory set in bios to enable memory mapping optimized for 64 bit systems. E6600 CPU.

I get this message following bootup:

exception ECException in module Vista bootPro @ 0001D5A4 expected assignemt operation (=) - LIne 1, Position 2.

I have BootPro to bootup with disabling driver signing, and that is it.

Please excuse the dual post, should'a posted here 1st.
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:58 am

Postby Grav!ty » Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:51 am

I'll leave Jason to respond the to the error you are getting sweetie, but run this command from the command prompt to disable the driver signing requirement :yesnod: MS stymied us with the command that VistaBootPRO 3.1 runs to achieve that but VistaBootPRO 3.2 Final due for release shortly, includes the new command that sorts that out.

You'll find the command prompt by typing CMD into the search bar at the bottom of the start menu and it cmd.exe will appear at the top of the start menu. Right click it and select "run as administrator" and then
type CD\ and press enter followed by

type bcdedit /set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press enter.

Reboot and your driver signing requirement will be sorted out. Maybe that will also get rid of the error message you are getting?
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Postby Sweetie » Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:02 pm

Thank you, I will give it a try. Does this make a permanante fix, or do I need to run it each time I startup my PC?
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:58 am

PreviousNext

Return to PRO Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
cron