A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Vista's Activation Reset After Renaming OS in the VBP

Forum rules
This forum is meant for support of PRO Software only. PROnetworks reserves the right to edit any topic title to better explain the contents of a post. We also may move your post to a more suitable forum if necessary.

It may take our support staff up to 24 hours to respond to your problem. We appreciate your patience.

Vista's Activation Reset After Renaming OS in the VBP

Postby SSAiNTT » Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:13 am

Hello, i'm using this amazing software for a few days now and admit this unpleasant problem:
once i rename chosen OS in VistaBootPRO my Windows Activation has reset and saying "you have 14 days to activate..."
is there any ideas on how to fix this?

Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:06 am

Re: Vista's Activation Reset After Renaming OS in the VBP

Postby Grav!ty » Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:01 am

It cannot be because you renamed your boot menu item. VistaBootPRO simply uses the built in native Vista commands to make changes to the boot configuration data store. A bug of that description has never been logged for Vista.

Did you add any hardware to your system?

Is your copy of Vista legal or is it pirated?

Where did you download your copy of VistaBootPRO from and what version are you using?
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Re: Vista's Activation Reset After Renaming OS in the VBP

Postby SSAiNTT » Sat Jul 11, 2009 3:47 pm

thanks so much for the quick response Grav!ty;
It cannot be because you renamed your boot menu item. VistaBootPRO simply uses the built in native Vista commands to make changes to the boot configuration data store. A bug of that description has never been logged for Vista.

there is a slight possibility that this wasn't caused by VistBootPRO, but if it wasn't, then i have no explanation on how it happening.

here's a shorten story about how i met VBP:
i bought a new 750GB HDD, moved my whole 500GB to it and decided to clone my OS partition on the same drive, to use one for sound workshop, and another for web-design (with server and stuff);
i did all this by using Acronis tools, and after i finished, my second (new) OS has asked me for a new Activation.. i was trying to activate it using my genuine Vista Home Premium OEM serial, but it didn't work out, and even though i don't see anything illegal in using two OS on the same hard-drive, i'm not sure that Micros0ft's support would agree with me;
so i decided not to waste my time and money for the support call and go the easiest way - simply download the keygen :((

keygen worked perfectly and i got my activation back, but right after that my current windows title has changed..
the funny thing is that once i had change the title back to what i need using VBP 3.3, the activation has f@cked up again :))) :bashhead
so i'm stuck in this loop and don't know what to do.. if you won't advice me anything i'll probably leave the name that Vista choosing for itself :question
Did you add any hardware to your system?

nope.. obviously new HDD is not really counts.

Is your copy of Vista legal or is it pirated?

i answered that above.. so sad that even though i pay them, it's still easier to simply use keygen..
this isn't right.

anyway, i do understand that VBP is not supposed to cause such troubles, but i really don't see any other reason for this happening
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:06 am

Return to PRO Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
cron