A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Vista BSOD

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby phileysmiley » Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:43 am

The thing is, after 5 years of installing and reinstalling builds of LH/Vista on my test rig (I don't go back as far as some here -- only to LH 4074), for the first time I am using Vista as a main OS.

Here is how my 4 computers figure into things:

I have 2 desktops, my primary one with dual-boot XP 32 and XP 64, with 64 as my main OS, and the other test rig with XP 32 and what used to be whatever LH/Vista build I was working on. I did have Vista 64 on my 64-bit rig at one point but it was a short-lived experiment.

I have 2 laptops, one with XP 32 and my new one with Vista 64, which is now my primary laptop. It's the one which will go with me wherever I travel and is going to be the most critical of all 4 computers. So I really need to have it working the way I want it to ASAP.
Media Director
User avatar
Posts: 13745
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Delray Beach FL USA
Real Name: Larry Richman

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby JabbaPapa » Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:52 am

Do you have enough room on it to install either XP x64 or W7 x64 as a dual-boot option ?
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby phileysmiley » Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:56 am

JabbaPapa wrote:Do you have enough room on it to install either XP x64 or W7 x64 as a dual-boot option ?

Yes. :yesnod:
Media Director
User avatar
Posts: 13745
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Delray Beach FL USA
Real Name: Larry Richman

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby JabbaPapa » Fri Jul 31, 2009 1:59 am

OK then install the W7 Ultimate RC in dual-boot, and hopefully this will be a good, workable and non-warranty-violating, solution :)
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby phileysmiley » Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:51 am

Disk check is done. No errors found.

I checked and the music files are indeed mp3 and not wma, and iTunes is the default player, so I don't know why WMP opened.

I went to the Toshiba site and downloaded the Realtek audio drivers and reinstalled the drivers from there.

So now I have:
1) Deleted and rebuilt swap file
2) Installed SP2
3) Run disk check
4) Reinstalled audio drivers

How much space would I want to allow on the HDD for a W7 installation?
Media Director
User avatar
Posts: 13745
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Delray Beach FL USA
Real Name: Larry Richman

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby JabbaPapa » Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:29 am

Space requirements depend entirely on your software needs.
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby phileysmiley » Fri Jul 31, 2009 3:45 am

JabbaPapa wrote:Space requirements depend entirely on your software needs.

ATM I have 126.55 in use and 161.38 free. Of course this includes all my documents.
Media Director
User avatar
Posts: 13745
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Delray Beach FL USA
Real Name: Larry Richman

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby JabbaPapa » Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:25 am

phileysmiley wrote:
JabbaPapa wrote:Space requirements depend entirely on your software needs.

ATM I have 126.55 in use and 161.38 free. Of course this includes all my documents.


(Make sure to put your documents in an easy location that both Windows can access btw, doesn't need to be a partition if you don't want, can be just a folder in either OS partition)

The formula to calculate the ideal size for a W7 partition would be :

2 * (126.55 - [size of documents folder])

... OR ... I dunno, 40 GB ? and put your documents in a folder called Documents on the Vista partition ? :P
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby phileysmiley » Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:46 pm

JabbaPapa wrote:
phileysmiley wrote:
JabbaPapa wrote:Space requirements depend entirely on your software needs.

ATM I have 126.55 in use and 161.38 free. Of course this includes all my documents.


(Make sure to put your documents in an easy location that both Windows can access btw, doesn't need to be a partition if you don't want, can be just a folder in either OS partition)

The formula to calculate the ideal size for a W7 partition would be :

2 * (126.55 - [size of documents folder])

... OR ... I dunno, 40 GB ? and put your documents in a folder called Documents on the Vista partition ? :P

The documents are in a folder called Documents on the Vista partition and I can access them from the W7 partition, so I would only need space for the OS and any programs I install on it. That should work just fine then. :yesnod:
Media Director
User avatar
Posts: 13745
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Delray Beach FL USA
Real Name: Larry Richman

Re: Vista BSOD

Postby JabbaPapa » Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:12 pm

Good luck with it ^*^ :witch:
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

PreviousNext

Return to General Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 1 guest