A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

To Test If Port 80 Is Open

To Test If Port 80 Is Open

Postby s. sengupta » Mon Jun 30, 2003 4:52 pm

1. Start Internet Explorer.

2. Type the following into the address bar and press Enter:

http://www.pronetworks.org:80

3. If home page opens in the browser, port 80 is open. If the connection timed out, traffic through port 80 may be blocked.

Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1226
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:52 am
Location: India

Postby dlt » Mon Jun 30, 2003 9:17 pm

Som, can you tell us a little bit more about why you should check to see if it's open?
I am extraordinary, I am just your ordinary
average every day sane psycho supergoddess
~Liz Phair, Extraordinary~
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 705
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 11:56 am
Location: New England, USA

Postby SCgone » Mon Jun 30, 2003 9:35 pm

My port 80 isn't open, it's actually stealthed, not visible to the internet. When I'm doing this, all I'm doing is forcing Internet Explorer to open up port 80.
PRO PLATINUM
Posts: 6879
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:59 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA

Postby Mac33 » Mon Jun 30, 2003 9:42 pm

and really for no reason if you are not using it!
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 4910
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2002 4:55 pm
Location: Scotland

Postby augie » Mon Jun 30, 2003 10:01 pm

I don't know, just used Gibson's Stealth Up. Using ZA Pro, I was "stealthed" on port 80, even though that had to be where he was sending it through.?" I'll try another one soon.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Postby SCgone » Mon Jun 30, 2003 10:08 pm

augie wrote:I don't know, just used Gibson's Stealth Up. Using ZA Pro, I was "stealthed" on port 80, even though that had to be where he was sending it through.?" I'll try another one soon.


You're still stealthed. GRC is probing port 80, but when you use the :80 on the end, it's just forcing IE to open up that port. IRC even has a script that opens 80 without you knowing.
PRO PLATINUM
Posts: 6879
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:59 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA

Postby augie » Mon Jun 30, 2003 10:10 pm

:hmmm: So how can we protect ourselves from even our own IRC?
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Postby SCgone » Mon Jun 30, 2003 10:40 pm

Sorry, I meant to say ICQ, which has a personal web page option that opens port 80.
PRO PLATINUM
Posts: 6879
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:59 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA

Postby s. sengupta » Tue Jul 01, 2003 3:07 am

Dlt wrote:-
Som, can you tell us a little bit more about why you should check to see if it's open?

Port 80 is that particular port which is most vulnerable to:-

711 trojan (Seven Eleven), AckCmd, BlueFire, Cafeini, Duddie, Executor, God Message, Intruzzo , Latinus, Lithium, MscanWorm, NerTe, Nimda, Noob, Optix Lite, Optix Pro , Power, Ramen, Remote Shell , Reverse WWW Tunnel Backdoor , RingZero, RTB 666, Scalper, Screen Cutter , Seeker, Slapper, Web Server CT , WebDownloader.

Moreover during Windows Product Activation (WPA) uses the following ports:

PORT Usage
80 for HTTP
443 for HTTPS

To test if port 443 is open:

1. Start Internet Explorer.

2. Type the following into the address bar and press Enter:

https://www.microsoft.com:443

3. If the Microsoft page opens in the browser, port 443 is open. If the connection timed out, traffic through port 443 may be blocked.

NOTE: WPA will issue Error 32777 if it can't connect to the Product Activation server.

NOTE: WPA will issue Error 32777 if you computer's date or time is incorrect.
I hope this will help. :yesnod:
Image
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1226
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 11:52 am
Location: India

Postby Weaver » Tue Jul 01, 2003 4:03 am

I don't mean to step in (actually I do), but the starting post in this thread is inaccurrate. When you are typing in

Code: Select all
http://www.pro-networks.org:80


into your browser, you are creating a connection on Port 80 to pro-networks.org . Not yourself. In order to test if your own Port 80 is open, the best bet is going to be to go into a cmd (or command) window and type in

Code: Select all
netstat -an


The output will look like this:

Code: Select all
C:\>netstat -an

Active Connections

  Proto  Local Address          Foreign Address        State
  TCP    0.0.0.0:135            0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:445            0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:1025           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:1027           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:3009           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    0.0.0.0:5000           0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:3001         0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:3002         0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:3003         0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    127.0.0.1:3008         0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  TCP    192.168.1.106:139      0.0.0.0:0              LISTENING
  UDP    0.0.0.0:135            *:*
  UDP    0.0.0.0:445            *:*
  UDP    0.0.0.0:500            *:*
  UDP    0.0.0.0:1026           *:*
  UDP    0.0.0.0:3004           *:*
  UDP    0.0.0.0:3017           *:*
  UDP    0.0.0.0:3179           *:*
  UDP    127.0.0.1:1900         *:*
  UDP    127.0.0.1:2234         *:*
  UDP    127.0.0.1:3005         *:*
  UDP    127.0.0.1:3016         *:*
  UDP    127.0.0.1:3096         *:*
  UDP    192.168.1.106:137      *:*
  UDP    192.168.1.106:138      *:*
  UDP    192.168.1.106:1900     *:*


The important thing to look for would be a line like this (which is not in the above)

Code: Select all
   TCP    0.0.0.0:80            0.0.0.0         LISTENING


Notice the :80, that is the reference to the Port number.

The only reasons you would ever have Port 80 opened on your machine is if you were running a webserver (HTTP operates on 80) or have a trojan that you don't know about (bad thing) operating on Port 80. The other acceptable reason would be if you were running some other service on Port 80, but you would not do that since all scanners scan Port 80.

To go over that one more time, since I know it is confusing. By typing in http://www.pro-networks.org:80 into your browser, you are not testing your own computer for Port 80 being open, but you are creating (testing) pro-networks.org 's computer for Port 80. Since there is a webserver on pro-networks.org , you will get this page.

Technically speaking, when you type in http://www.pro-networks.org:80 (you don't really need the :80 web browsers know that HTTP is on 80 and really do it for you) you are actually opening up a port somewhere between 1000 and 1100 ( assuming you are on a windows machine) so that pro-networks can talk back to you. Viewing a webpage is a two way street, both computers have to have ports open to communicate. Windows chooses somewhat randomly between 1000 and 1100 what to open when viewing sites.

Hope this confused a lot of people... Wait a minute...

-Weaver
Public Keys

The primary purpose of the DATA statement is to give names to constants; instead of referring to pi as 3.141592653589793 at every appearance, the variable PI can be given that value with a DATA statement and used instead of the longer form of the constant. This also simplifies modifying the program, should the value of pi change.
-- FORTRAN manual for Xerox Computers
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 1967
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 12:05 am
Location: /home/weaver/

Next

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
cron