A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Symantec Vulnerability

Symantec Vulnerability

Postby imnuts » Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:58 am

I don't know if anyone else here has seen it, but someone has found a vulnerability in Symantec Corp. 10. I don't know what minor versions it effects or if it's previous versions as well (8 and 9), but it caused a somewhat big problem here at school recently. The latest version is not affected (10.1.??) so you should probably upgrade if you are using it. I'm not sure what exactly happened, but essentially overnight a huge botnet should up on campus that affected several hundred computers. The system would show an error message about a runtime error in rtvscan.exe and after that the system is "infected". I don't think they system admins found out how it spread or what exactly it does yet, but it makes the system really slow and also kills virus protection. Just a little FYI since i haven't seen any news about this anywhere online (although i haven't really looked).
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Postby kd1966 » Fri Dec 15, 2006 2:59 am

Symantec with vulnerabilities?? No WAY!!!

lol
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Return to Security & Virus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests