A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

svchost.exe phoning home to ISP?

svchost.exe phoning home to ISP?

Postby Computerwiz2489 » Sat Dec 30, 2006 8:29 am

Hey guys, i've taken a look at my ZoneAlarm logs... i've found that svchost.exe has been trying to send packets to my ISP...

Should that be some cause for concern? I'm really starting to hate that program...
PRO Level 15
Posts: 1043
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 7:40 am
Location: Pro Networks forum board

Re: svchost.exe phoning home to ISP?

Postby augie » Sat Dec 30, 2006 5:53 pm

Computerwiz2489 wrote:Hey guys, i've taken a look at my ZoneAlarm logs... i've found that svchost.exe has been trying to send packets to my ISP...

Should that be some cause for concern? I'm really starting to hate that program...
It's the same with my ISP, I just check always and allow and I never see the thing again.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Postby airwolf » Sat Dec 30, 2006 8:23 pm

the svchost.exe is the main windows application for exploits and it can be used for hacking into a PC but its notused for some time now i know because before two years i was a hacker and believe me its hard work :D nors the trojans are going throo port 21 ( FTP ) and files like wind32.dll and kernel32.dll if your realy consurned about your security download a program called ShadowSecurityScaner it will show you what ports and files are being used by Hackers
Intel Duo Core 2.66 Ghz
2.0Gb of RAM
640 GB HDD
GeForce 8600GT [The GTS burned ;( ]
Proud Intel User
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Lithuania siauliai

Postby kd1966 » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:26 pm

Hmmm........ interesting program; has quite a few downloads but only a single review which is not a good one... seems Avast! flagged this one for containing malware in it. Not that these scans are always accurate, but it does give one some pause.......
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby airwolf » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:43 pm

it cant hawe any malware i scaned it with Kaspersky 6.1.144 0 found zonealarm seems not blocking it and my security advisor on zonealarm seems to let it go then i scaned with anti-spyware 0 found
Intel Duo Core 2.66 Ghz
2.0Gb of RAM
640 GB HDD
GeForce 8600GT [The GTS burned ;( ]
Proud Intel User
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Lithuania siauliai

Postby augie » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:47 pm

Hmm airwolf, you bring up a disturbing point as I do my banking, taxes and purchasing online and haven't had any RL issues yet. I think I'll call my ISP after the holidays and ask them what the deal is.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Postby airwolf » Sat Dec 30, 2006 11:55 pm

yes thats the easyest way but i like chalanges like computers which were created in year 82 and only suports win 95 and bringing that computer to life is a chalange when the bios is cavemen age :D
Intel Duo Core 2.66 Ghz
2.0Gb of RAM
640 GB HDD
GeForce 8600GT [The GTS burned ;( ]
Proud Intel User
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:35 pm
Location: Lithuania siauliai

Postby augie » Sun Dec 31, 2006 1:03 am

I looked at my processes using Process Explorer and all looks fine though I will still ask my ISP because there is no difference in connection speed between blocking those calls home and letting them through. Makes we wonder why they need it. I'll leave them blocked until I get a good answer from them.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: svchost.exe phoning home to ISP?

Postby SCgone » Sun Dec 31, 2006 3:20 am

Computerwiz2489 wrote:Hey guys, i've taken a look at my ZoneAlarm logs... i've found that svchost.exe has been trying to send packets to my ISP...

Should that be some cause for concern? I'm really starting to hate that program...


Running any gaming servers such as xfire? These programs will do it routinely.
PRO PLATINUM
Posts: 6879
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:59 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA

Postby Computerwiz2489 » Sun Dec 31, 2006 5:53 am

No I don't use xFire.

Maybe it's not a big thing though. If I block it- I can't access the internet. So Internet Explorer might actually be using svchost to access the internet which would explain this whole deal but, the idea just scares me to death that svchost is sending requests to the ISP... Seriously, one would expect Internet Explorer to be accessing the internet. Ugh. :no

ZoneAlarm says it's only a DNS request, but if it's such a small deal then why was it denied?
PRO Level 15
Posts: 1043
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2003 7:40 am
Location: Pro Networks forum board

Next

Return to Security & Virus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron