A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Starting VMware problem after power out.

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

Starting VMware problem after power out.

Postby yeshuas » Fri May 29, 2009 5:19 pm

Yesterday, I was cleaning our carpets, vacuuming, and then steam cleaning them, and blew the circuit that my computers were on and since then, I can't get one of my SMP's VM's going. I start the VM Server, but can't get the VM to start, and it locks up the computer.

Thus far, I have defragmented,

deleted the old VM and created a new VM,

Restarted the computer, several times and it still won't start, and locks the computer up.
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Starting VMware problem after power out.

Postby augie » Fri May 29, 2009 5:43 pm

Hmm, did you delete the VMWare folder(s) too? I had VM go corrupt on me and had to delete all references to it as it seemed to go back to what was already there when reinstalling, even if the uninstall was successful. It took me quite a while to do this but it was the only thing that worked after several un/re-installs gave me the same errors. It wasn't the same symptoms as you have but just a guess here. VMWare is all over the place.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Starting VMware problem after power out.

Postby imnuts » Fri May 29, 2009 8:58 pm

When you go to start the VM and your system freezes, have Task Manager open and also watch the hard drive LED on your system if you have one. I had a similar issue a while ago when I was still using VMWare a lot where starting the VM would seemingly lock the computer. What it was actually doing though was somehow, it used up so many of the computer's resources (CPU, Disk bandwidth, and memory) that the system essentially froze while VMWare was doing something, presumably checking the virtual hard disk. After I figured this out, I left it sit overnight and the virtual machine was powered on and running in the morning. Not sure if it will work for you, but a possibility.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Re: Starting VMware problem after power out.

Postby yeshuas » Fri May 29, 2009 9:22 pm

imnuts wrote:When you go to start the VM and your system freezes, have Task Manager open and also watch the hard drive LED on your system if you have one. I had a similar issue a while ago when I was still using VMWare a lot where starting the VM would seemingly lock the computer. What it was actually doing though was somehow, it used up so many of the computer's resources (CPU, Disk bandwidth, and memory) that the system essentially froze while VMWare was doing something, presumably checking the virtual hard disk. After I figured this out, I left it sit overnight and the virtual machine was powered on and running in the morning. Not sure if it will work for you, but a possibility.

I thought about just letting it sit, but I finally got it going, by deleting the old VM completely as Algis said an then creating a new one, I also stopped my firewall, and kept moving my mouse the whole time until it started.
I know moving the mouse sounds crazy, butttttttttttttttttttttt anyway it seems to be working fine now.

thanks everyone for the help and suggestions ^*^
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron