A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Spysweeper Installing Spyware / Adware

Spysweeper Installing Spyware / Adware

Postby NT50 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:38 am

This is the third time this has happen while installing updates for SpySweeper. Before I could uncheck the box to install the AsK toolbar. Now that option is left off.
Luckly for me I am running NOD32 AV and it caught three instances of Spysweeper trying to install Spyware/Adware. You can see from the picture below.

Image

Sad Sad Sad day today.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby phileysmiley » Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:54 am

Reminds me of when CA sent me someone else's financial information.
Media Director
User avatar
Posts: 13745
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Delray Beach FL USA
Real Name: Larry Richman

Postby NT50 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:04 am

Bad thing is I am an AR. I sent them a NASTY email. Sunblet Software has been trying to get me for a while now. Might have to talk to them more.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby NT50 » Tue Dec 18, 2007 3:38 am

I jsut sent another email to my contact inside Webroot.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby NT50 » Sat Dec 22, 2007 9:14 pm

LOL

I jsut installed Spysweeper on a noteboke and notice that the check baox is BACK for you to either agree or disagree for the Ask Bar. The last version did not ahve the check box and tried to install anyway.

So I went online and notice that I have build 122 and now the Latest build has backed up to build 103. Maybe my email and who knows a few others, they decided to back up and try a differetn way :)

I should send my contact inside another email asking why they are trying to include something in Anti Spyware that is Spyware. Sounds like something that AOL does......
Last edited by NT50 on Sat Dec 22, 2007 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby Nativedude » Sat Dec 22, 2007 9:35 pm

Dang... Never thought I would see that

At least they backed it up and gave the option to not install it, pretty sad though
PRO Level 15
User avatar
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 9:59 pm
Location: Historical Yorktown, Virginia USA
Real Name: Adam Durham

Postby phileysmiley » Sat Dec 22, 2007 9:48 pm

Wow, that's weird. They downgraded the build they have online???
Media Director
User avatar
Posts: 13745
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Delray Beach FL USA
Real Name: Larry Richman

Postby NT50 » Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:17 pm

phileysmiley wrote:Wow, that's weird. They downgraded the build they have online???


Yep
See pic

Image

I am telling ya, NOD went off on it when SS tried to install. I sent pictures and all to Weboot / inside.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby phileysmiley » Sat Dec 22, 2007 11:41 pm

NT50 wrote:
phileysmiley wrote:Wow, that's weird. They downgraded the build they have online???


Yep
See pic

Image

I am telling ya, NOD went off on it when SS tried to install. I sent pictures and all to Weboot / inside.

OMG that looks so odd. I guess they have to build into the code that when you install the new one it doesn't see the higher number as the most recent?
Media Director
User avatar
Posts: 13745
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:20 pm
Location: Delray Beach FL USA
Real Name: Larry Richman

Return to Security & Virus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests