A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby Chippychap » Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:34 am

Snappy tile huh? :whistle
Hi Guys, Have used a driver updating beastie to keep my drivers up to date.
It has done this with my sound chip integrated into my Mobo.
I use headphones and have lost stereo. :-x
I am plugged into the green socket at rear, as always, the newly installed manager says to use the front socket which does not work.
What is the best I can get out of this chip?
I don't even have the facility to change from "Speaker" option to "Headphones" :no
Any idea guys?


Image
VEGETARIAN = AN OLD ABORIGINE WORD MEANING BAD HUNTER.
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Glorious West Yorkshire
Real Name: Ken Wyatt

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby NT50 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:42 am

I am assuming you are using a MB with the AC97 sound onboard. It sounds like this software you use has screwed up your drivers. You need to uninstall them and go back to the drivers that you can download from the website.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby Grav!ty » Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:16 pm

You can get all the drivers you need for your board directly from ASUS. You'll find the download site link about half halfway down the page and can then select the OS you want drivers for.

Updating software generally searches for compatible drivers and not necessarily the drivers designed and signed by the manufacturer of the board. I'd get it uninstalled.
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby Chippychap » Wed Oct 28, 2009 2:53 pm

I'm on it guys. ^*^
Thank you
VEGETARIAN = AN OLD ABORIGINE WORD MEANING BAD HUNTER.
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Glorious West Yorkshire
Real Name: Ken Wyatt

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby Chippychap » Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:24 pm

Done it.
Same as before, looks like if I want stereo via me phones then I will have to Plug 'em in at the front.
I did do that but not with a reboot.
More messing methinks.
VEGETARIAN = AN OLD ABORIGINE WORD MEANING BAD HUNTER.
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Glorious West Yorkshire
Real Name: Ken Wyatt

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby Grav!ty » Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:51 pm

I think reinstall your chipset drivers as well and then reinstall your sound drivers again, because that may just help to correctly ID the capability of the sound card.
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby Chippychap » Wed Oct 28, 2009 4:16 pm

TBH the driver updater DID the chipset as well which cocked the chipset up so had to be reversed.

Below is another window in the sound app.
It seems to suggest that digital IS available but is only available via the front sockets.
I DID have the facility for stereo phones AND plugged into the front.

Image


Original picture that I foolishly dumped reproduced below.

Image
VEGETARIAN = AN OLD ABORIGINE WORD MEANING BAD HUNTER.
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Glorious West Yorkshire
Real Name: Ken Wyatt

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby NT50 » Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:56 pm

I have a set of Razer Carcharias headset for gaming. I have my speaker system setup for 5.1 surround sound. I can plug mine in the back and I get surround sound in my headset, I can plug them in the front and get surround sound. In Win7 I have to set which one is default tho due to my headset is plugged in the front. If you want sound from the front and use the headset set it to default. If not set the speakers to default. Vista and Win 7 are GOOFY on how they work their sound devices. XP64 determines it automatically and sets everythign for you. Vista and Win 7 WILL NOT set it for you.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby Grav!ty » Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:33 pm

With headphones I found that USB was the best and didn't care about front, back, inside, outside or upside down, but using the little light green plug front or back, was virtually without exception problematic.
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Re: Sound chip on P5N-MX MoBo

Postby Chippychap » Thu Oct 29, 2009 7:38 am

Do you need special USB phones or it is something so simple as an adaptor?
VEGETARIAN = AN OLD ABORIGINE WORD MEANING BAD HUNTER.
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Glorious West Yorkshire
Real Name: Ken Wyatt

Next

Return to Hardware and Customizing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron
cron