A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Server cache problem - phantom files

Server cache problem - phantom files

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:35 pm

We're having a problem at work that's about to make me pull my hair out. We've tried several different things, but so far nothing seems to be fixing the problem. Basically it appears the server is in love with its cache. It's an IIS server, but I'm not sure if it runs VMware or not. Here's what's happening.

1.) I or someone else is uploading a web file to the server. On our initial publish of this file it updates live on the web with no problems.

2.) Any subsequent updates to the file, and any attempts to republish the file fails to happen from the public web view. The server actually receives the new file, and if you view the file on the server it is in fact the latest file, but the version of the file displayed on the web is still the previous version from step 1.

We use cold fusion files on our website. So for a while we thought it was a problem with the CF server, but I don't think so any longer. I did some testing and this is what I
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby jbullard » Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:55 pm

I know you probably already tried this but it sounds like you are viewing the webpage from within the companies server which can cause this. Have you tried to flush the dns on your machine just to make sure? If it works I would possibly check in to see if there is a resolve issue.
VP - Software
User avatar
Posts: 3653
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Utah
Real Name: Jason Bullard

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:58 pm

Can you test something for me? On this page, do you see three "..." at the end of the paragraph before the "Watch a Teaser" button? I put those three periods to test if the file was updating or not.

http://www.myetv.org/television/productions/the_war/

If you see them, it's an internal issue. If not, then it's still a cache problem I think. I'm going to use my laptop to connect via the Verizon network and see what happens also. That should bypass all internal stuff. Good idea to test that.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 1:59 pm

Nope, even my laptop shows the old file.

I've got the server up on my screen remotely and I'm tinkering with IIS settings, but overall I'm clueless here on what I'm doing.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby ginogsm » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:02 pm

John , is your network and IIS behind a proxy/cache server ?
Image
<a href="http://www.vistamania.org/" target="_blank"><img src="http://parcom.pro-networks.org/images/vistamania35zu.gif" border="0"></a>
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Frankfurt , Germany
Real Name: George

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:05 pm

ginogsm wrote:John , is your network and IIS behind a proxy/cache server ?


I'll add that to my list of questions to ask our departmental IT guy. He's also been unclear what's wrong here.

If there is a way for me to know this without asking, please let me know.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby ginogsm » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:09 pm

If you cannot access say XXX sites. Do not see images and/or flash objects and basically if a request to see a site ( even if it the url is typed wrong ) is reject by either ISA or squid or another server between you and the router.
Image
<a href="http://www.vistamania.org/" target="_blank"><img src="http://parcom.pro-networks.org/images/vistamania35zu.gif" border="0"></a>
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Frankfurt , Germany
Real Name: George

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:10 pm

OK, a slight breakthrough - maybe.

I opened the file on the server directly in notepad and then re-saved it. It immediately updated on the server.

So is Dreamweaver simply not telling the server a new file is there?
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby jbullard » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:30 pm

John. I found this somewhere else and is specifically for Frontpage, Dreamweaver, etc and server cache. It will prevent the caching of the file.

Code: Select all
<meta HTTP-EQUIV="Pragma" CONTENT="no-cache">
VP - Software
User avatar
Posts: 3653
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Utah
Real Name: Jason Bullard

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:33 pm

Thanks, let me try that and I'll tell you what happens :)
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Next

Return to HTML, CSS, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests