A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Server cache problem - phantom files

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:35 pm

Negative. Dreamweaver still must be telling the server that the file isn't "new." It's not updating the time stamp for some reason. The file is updated, but the time stamp doesn't change - so the server is ignoring it.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby Absolute-Zero » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:37 pm

kanaloa wrote:OK, a slight breakthrough - maybe.

I opened the file on the server directly in notepad and then re-saved it. It immediately updated on the server.

So is Dreamweaver simply not telling the server a new file is there?

Shouldn't, theoretically, affect it. Maybe Dreamweaver isn't updating the file(s) timestamp?

One thing you could ask the Tech guys to do is disable the ISAPI extension caching within IIS, that could help resolve the situation.
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 2495
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Forever blowing bubbles...
Real Name: Dan

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:58 pm

Thanks Dan, I'll see if I can find that in the configuration.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby Absolute-Zero » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:07 pm

kanaloa wrote:Thanks Dan, I'll see if I can find that in the configuration.

It's under the Home Directory tab, John. Click on the 'Configuration' button and there's a check box "Cache ISAPI extensions" there. Uncheck that and see if it helps.
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 2495
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Forever blowing bubbles...
Real Name: Dan

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:23 pm

Do you think I'll need to reboot? So far I can't see a change.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:32 pm

I rebooted, but still Dreamweaver won't update the file time stamp.

BTW, should I have to restart all the services manually when I reboot? I tried to tell it to restart them all for the site, but ultimately had to go through and start them manually. Guess me and our IT guy need to talk on that. I'm the blind guy leading the blind, LOL
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby ginogsm » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:53 pm

Are you sure it is Dreamweaver that is not updating ? I'm asking this because I feel there's a not updated proxy with cache server in your network.
Image
<a href="http://www.vistamania.org/" target="_blank"><img src="http://parcom.pro-networks.org/images/vistamania35zu.gif" border="0"></a>
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Frankfurt , Germany
Real Name: George

Postby Absolute-Zero » Tue Jul 03, 2007 3:56 pm

You shouldn't need to reboot to affect the change, John, and the IIS Admin, WWW services, etc, should all start automatically when the server does, you shouldn't even need to log in.

Change the ISAPI extension cache settings in IIS won't change Dreamweaver's lack of updating the timestamp but it should stop the files being cached in the first place, providing, that is, that they are being parsed by one of the ISAPI extensions listed in the box below the Cache.... checkbox.

Are they plain HTML pages or ASP, etc, out of interest?
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 2495
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Forever blowing bubbles...
Real Name: Dan

Postby kanaloa » Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:05 pm

They are mostly .CFM files but only for the purpose of using include commands.

George I don't think we have any kind of proxy here. I can ask when our IT guy comes in, but I don't think we do. It's nothing like DOT here (thankfully)
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Postby ginogsm » Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:13 pm

Cool. That limits your investigation in the Web tools and servers.
Image
<a href="http://www.vistamania.org/" target="_blank"><img src="http://parcom.pro-networks.org/images/vistamania35zu.gif" border="0"></a>
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Frankfurt , Germany
Real Name: George

PreviousNext

Return to HTML, CSS, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest