A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Router problem

Router problem

Postby jojo » Tue May 11, 2010 2:19 am

Guys my friend has a main computer Win XP, and a wireless routers, Net,, .. something, forget.
She bought a new laptop Win 7, when the main computer shuts down or sleeps, she cant use the laptop.
What settings does she have to check.
Any idea anyone, TIA a lot
Image
Administrative
User avatar
Posts: 2622
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 4:03 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Router problem

Postby strokem » Tue May 11, 2010 5:23 am

did the main computer act as the server?
and did the internet connection (modem) are connected to the main server 1st before connected to the router?
n why did the laptop cannot be used when the main computer sleep? i mean, what is the connection between the main computer and the laptop?
if the laptop cannot used the internet, i understand. but, cannot use the laptop?
Image learning.will.never.ends.
PRO New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:40 am

Re: Router problem

Postby NT50 » Tue May 11, 2010 11:53 am

Joann

Sounds to me they setup the Internet connection sharing wizard on the desktop. If they did then that Desktop is the one doing the routing for the intranet.
Look into the internet sharing on the desktop and see if you can turn it off.

Or you can simply disconnect the desktop from the router and connect the notebook to it. Press the reset button on the router for at least 15 to 20 seconds. This will reset the router back to factory. You may have to restart the notebook but you should be able to go through the router setup again. The problem with this is it may disable the desktop when you connect it back.

Sounds to me this person has a Netgear router. I despise setting them up.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Re: Router problem

Postby yeshuas » Tue May 11, 2010 11:54 am

This is an example of a network setup in a home, "Modem which is connected to the internet", "which is then to a router", "which you then connect to individual computers either via a Cat cable or wirelessly".

Your friend doesn't have the modem connected to the desktop directly first do they?
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Router problem

Postby jojo » Tue May 11, 2010 2:01 pm

thanks guys, passing this all on to her, yes Jeff its Netgear.
Image
Administrative
User avatar
Posts: 2622
Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 4:03 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Return to General Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests