A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Ram issues need help!

Ram issues need help!

Postby kuzurame » Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:38 am

I have this rig that I built a little while a go and the mobo died so I got a new one, which required me to get new memory cause it was a ddr3 board. But now I have a Gigabyte EP43-DS3R board which is based off of the intel P43 chipset. I currently have a QX9770 proccesor, 2 gigs of Kingston HyperX memory (will post memory model number at the end of this post), And Nvidia 9800 GX2. I ran occt because the system was not stable and the cpu came out stable but the memory did not, afterwards I ran 3dmark 06 (just as a second to last resort) and it crashed. finally I ran memtest and it came up with 3118 errors. I took it down to the stor I got it from (which is a store only here in town) and they ran tests on it and it came out fine. I do not know what to do I had some older memory running in this system which ran great, so that eliminates the possibiltiy of bad sockets. I seriosly need help on this one BADLY. Any help would be greatly apperciated.

Kingston hyperX KX6400D2/1G 800ghz
Timings: 5-5-5-15
Voltages: 2.00V
PRO Level 2
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:01 am

Re: Ram issues need help!

Postby shreader » Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:33 pm

I took a look & all the QVL's that are available, the closest that I could find are for the EP45.

This list only has DDR2 listed.

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/FileList/Mem ... 45-ds3.pdf
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6566
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Re: Ram issues need help!

Postby yeshuas » Wed Dec 31, 2008 4:08 pm

The memory he has listed is DDR2 memory
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Ram issues need help!

Postby yeshuas » Wed Dec 31, 2008 4:10 pm

Have you checked in the bios to make sure it is getting 2.0v
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Ram issues need help!

Postby JabbaPapa » Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:01 pm

Your motherboard and your RAM may simply be non-intercompatible. This is actually a fairly common problem, especially where some hardware may be cutting edge :(
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Re: Ram issues need help!

Postby kd1966 » Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:12 pm

kuzurame wrote:I have this rig that I built a little while a go and the mobo died so I got a new one, which required me to get new memory cause it was a ddr3 board. But now I have a Gigabyte EP43-DS3R board which is based off of the intel P43 chipset. I currently have a QX9770 proccesor, 2 gigs of Kingston HyperX memory (will post memory model number at the end of this post), And Nvidia 9800 GX2. I ran occt because the system was not stable and the cpu came out stable but the memory did not, afterwards I ran 3dmark 06 (just as a second to last resort) and it crashed. finally I ran memtest and it came up with 3118 errors. I took it down to the stor I got it from (which is a store only here in town) and they ran tests on it and it came out fine. I do not know what to do I had some older memory running in this system which ran great, so that eliminates the possibiltiy of bad sockets. I seriosly need help on this one BADLY. Any help would be greatly apperciated.

Kingston hyperX KX6400D2/1G 800ghz
Timings: 5-5-5-15
Voltages: 2.00V


Do a little google searching and see what RAM is certified compatible with you MOBO; Crucial.com is usually pretty good at determining this :yesnod:
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Re: Ram issues need help!

Postby leo27 » Thu Jan 01, 2009 1:01 am

just a thought but try updating to the newest motherboard bios. Also double check that the ram is running at the 5-5-5-15 timings (the timing will be displayed in memtest) at 2.0v, and check this in the hardware monitoring screen (the one that shows you your systems temperatures and voltages) in the bios to make sure that setting 2.0v in the bios gives the ram 2v (ie making sure that the mobo isn;t undervolting ur ram)
PRO Level 4
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:00 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Ram issues need help!

Postby kuzurame » Sun Jan 04, 2009 7:17 am

I have checked all of that the timings are correct in the bios the voltage in the bios is 2.0v. I've takin the system to my local shop to confirm what I think it is(
Compatibility issue) because the memory isn't on the support list. Which is the only info I've got against it.
PRO Level 2
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:01 am

Re: Ram issues need help!

Postby shreader » Sun Jan 04, 2009 2:56 pm

On this last rig I built the RAM I bought w/ the MB was not on the QVL & the MB would not even fire-up. The fans ran but no MB tho.

I found in the MB manual (ASUS) that the board would not run on RAM sticks that had 128Mb chips on them & these did (16 x 128Mb= 2048Mb each) so I returned them for 2 (1 Gb ea) on the QVL & it fired up the first time after that, loaded the OS's, tweaked BIOS, life got better ^*^
Software Director
User avatar
Posts: 6566
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2002 2:25 am
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

Return to Hardware and Customizing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 1 guest

cron
cron