A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Problem Using Partition Commander Pro (ver 10.1)

Re: Problem Using Partition Commander Pro (ver 10.1)

Postby yeshuas » Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:16 pm

The cable was just a thought as they can go bad
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Problem Using Partition Commander Pro (ver 10.1)

Postby JabbaPapa » Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:25 pm

OK, try this for a messy hack ...

1) unplug the HDD and go into BIOS

2) in BIOS, for boot device priority choose CD/DVD, and make sure that booting from the hard drive is actually DISABLED, and that boot from another device/search for bootable devices/whatever it's called in your BIOS is also DISABLED

3) shut down, put HDD back in, and try to boot from your CD

4) TRASH the system partition if it works -- just delete it.

Then reenable booting from the HDD and reinstall and blablabla
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Re: Problem Using Partition Commander Pro (ver 10.1)

Postby bbarry » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:40 am

Jabba, I did all of that, but once I reconnected the HDD I couldn't boot. I think I've screwed up this HDD beyond repair, so I'm off to buy a new drive. Hopefully I will be able to restore using my Acronis image. If not, I will just have to reinstall Vista. I assume Microsoft will let me do that since all the other hardware remains the same on this PC.

Thanks again for everyone's help.
PRO Level 3
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: Arkansas

Re: Problem Using Partition Commander Pro (ver 10.1)

Postby JabbaPapa » Sat Mar 21, 2009 8:22 am

OK :(

One last thing to try -- buy a cheap (empty) external USB hard drive case (make sure to get the right type, either IDE or SATA depending on your drive type), and install the bad drive into this.

You should then be able to plug it into your other PC and attempt some repair operations that way.
Image
PRO VETERAN
User avatar
Posts: 9538
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 5:17 pm
Location: Monte-Carlo
Real Name: Julian Lord

Re: Problem Using Partition Commander Pro (ver 10.1)

Postby bbarry » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:30 pm

JabbaPapa wrote:OK :(

One last thing to try -- buy a cheap (empty) external USB hard drive case (make sure to get the right type, either IDE or SATA depending on your drive type), and install the bad drive into this.

You should then be able to plug it into your other PC and attempt some repair operations that way.

I never thought of that......will do. Thanks.
PRO Level 3
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: Arkansas

Previous

Return to General Tech Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest