A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Windows 7 Dual Boot Problem

Forum rules
Please start your own topic for support with problems you experience. Even if it appears to be exactly the same as someone else's problem, system configurations differ significantly. Thank you.

It may take our support staff between 24-48 hours to respond to your problem. We are a small business and strive to answer your questions as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience.

Windows 7 Dual Boot Problem

Postby chewy » Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:24 pm

Hi,
I am a newbie to this forum but would welcome help with my problem.
I have a dual boot set up with Windows 7 on C drive and H drive both on the same HDD. The reason I have 2 O/S is that one is used by family including grandchildren and the other is used by me for games.
For some unknown reason I cannot boot into H drive. When Windows is initially loading it is listed. It is there in disc management and I can see it on "My Computer" and go into it via Windows Explorer but it won't boot!
It gets as far as the Windows 7 logo and then the screen goes black with a cursor showing. If I leave it for about 30 seconds, a dialogue box appears with the following text:-
"Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
Runtime Error!
Program H:Windows\system32\nvvsvc.exe
This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.
OK"
Does anyone know what I can do to overcome this problem?
PRO New Member

Re: Windows 7 Dual Boot Problem

Postby yeshuas » Thu Apr 14, 2011 9:42 pm

sounds like you have a virus or similar, several things to try

boot into which ever OS you can, find the NOD32 website and run the online scan of all drives.

then try booting into H, if you get in run NOD32 again to get any virus or trojan .exe files