A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Dual Boot Vista Home Premium 64-bit and XP Home Edition

Forum rules
Please start your own topic for support with problems you experience. Even if it appears to be exactly the same as someone else's problem, system configurations differ significantly. Thank you.

It may take our support staff between 24-48 hours to respond to your problem. We are a small business and strive to answer your questions as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience.

Dual Boot Vista Home Premium 64-bit and XP Home Edition

Postby reevesjo » Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:15 am

As a newbie, I need some specific directions. I just installed DualBootPro on my HP desktop with Vista Home Premium 64-bit.
I want to install WINXP so I can run AutoCad14. I entered "'Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" as the name of the NEW system on the Operating Systems page. What should I put in the Boot Drive Box? C:/ is the main hard drive where Vista is located. Should XP be on C:/ also? What next????????? How do I now install WINXP. I have the XP Home Edition Service Pack 2. Do I just insert the disk in the CD drive? Thanks Joe
PRO New Member

Re: newbie

Postby Grav!ty » Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:35 am

See these two guides:

install-windows-xp-in-dual-boot-with-pre-installed-windows-7-t112568.html

dual-boot-trouble-shooting-guide-xp-windows-7-running-t112569.html

I'll change your topic title to something more descriptive of the issue being discussed shortly.

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member

Postby reevesjo » Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:59 am

Instructions say:

"Go to Disk Management in Windows 7 by right clicking Computer and select Manage and then Disk Management."

I have Vista Home Premium and not Windows 7. So, there is no such choice when I click Computer.........unless I am blind.