A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Installing Fedora 10 on a acer 4810t

Installing Fedora 10 on a acer 4810t

Postby nopzig » Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:58 am

Hey everyone I am looking to dual boot my new laptop and I've read that this is the best flavor of linux to use. I am pretty new to the whole multi os thing and need some help.
What I'm running:
Acer 4810t
intel centrino dual core 1.40
4 gb ram
320 HD
Vista home premium 64 bit
1. what do I need to do this I have a program to make a new partition already what I need is to know what is the best boot selector to use I'm thinking of buying VistaBootPro will that work well?
2. just a brief explanation of the steps I should take to accomplish this
And anything you can think of that will help me.
Thanks in advance
JJ
PRO New Member

Re: Installing Fedora 10 on a acer 4810t

Postby Grav!ty » Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:14 am

Hi nopzig. VistaBootPRO won't work for you with Linux at this stage. If you have the option to use GRUB with Fedora 10 then I think go with GRUB as your bootloader. It works well with Vista's bootloader and when installed after Vista will auto create a dual boot menu including the Vista OS.

See how-to-edit-grub-default-os-multi-booting-linux-and-windows-t109009.html for some ideas on how to edit the grub loader. I'm a total no0b to Linux and it didn't take me long to catch on to the commands that were needed.

Let us know how you get on :)

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member

Postby nopzig » Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:27 am

Ok like I said I'm new at this please be patient and I'm grateful for any help.
I downloaded the .iso burn it and try to boot from it but no go I did notice that it has more iso's once you burn the first one to a disc am I supposed to burn those to other disks or some how get them all on the same disc.