A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

HELP!! IDE to SATA hard drive boot issue!

HELP!! IDE to SATA hard drive boot issue!

Postby MrRogers » Wed Mar 26, 2008 11:56 pm

Hi all,

Im new to this so please bare with me...

Ok, so here's the situation...

Im curently running Windows Vista..

I have 1 SATA connected hard drive which is running perfectly fine..obviously because this HD is the one which is holding Vista on it..

I have an old IDE hard drive which i am wanting to also run along side the SATA HD..i have already purchased a IDE to SATA conversion kit and i have linked it up but Vista is not recognising my SATA converted IDE hard drive...

I was told u could just plug it all straight in and it would work and my MB would recognise my HD..but yet again nothing seems to be simple "no drivers" i was told lol....

Please help all much will be appreciated

Kind regards

Mr Rogers :)
PRO New Member

Postby NT50 » Thu Mar 27, 2008 12:11 am

Have you booted to BIOS to see if your motherboard is even seeing it?
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member

Postby ~Robrowe~ » Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:36 am

Does your motherboard have a pata connection, try that to see if the drive is good at all first.
Dont really see the point of the IDE to SATA converter. Drive will run at the same speed regardless and it just adds problems to the picture. I have heard a lot of issues with these pieces of hardware.
First thing is they are not recognized in the bios.
PROfessional Member

Postby MrRogers » Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:04 am

Hey thanks for your reply i havent actualy looked to closely at the M.board BUT i have gone into the BIOS and no its not even picking up the converted hard drive...

when i go into the bios its displaying something alogn the lines of

SATA SLOT 1 - (This has the SATA hard drive)
SATA SLOT 2 - (CD/DVD RW DRIVE)
SATA SLOT 3 - (This is greyed out displaying nothing is connected)
SATA SLOT 4 - (This is greyed out displaying nothing is connected)