A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Creative Declares War On iPod

Postby Malhovic » Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:12 am

That is the thing, I love Creative, and I like iPod. I am just getting into MACs, so I really don't know. It is a difficult decision for who I want to win in this one, but i chose Creative. They may have trouble winning though!

PROfessional Member

Postby GFLPraxis » Thu Dec 23, 2004 2:17 am

Malhovic wrote:Well that is the thing. M$ will find a way to get Firefox to stop selling their product. Just like when Metallica had the lawsuit and told Kazaa and Napster to knock off the file sharing! I am sure that M$ would do something similar to get Firefox to stop. They would find some sort of loophole and exploit it to get the FireFox developers in some sort of lawsuit trouble to make them stop distributing the product.

Sure, only by breaking the antitrust laws. They're already on the verge of being forced to unbundle Windows Media Player from Windows. If they put something to force people to use IE (they're already in enough legal trouble over the IE integration as it is), they'd probably get in major trouble.

SonicSpeed wrote:Personally I don't see what so special about the Apple iPod, I've see one, there pretty good. But then I've seen (and heard) some of the Creative products, since they make the best soundcards, helps them make really good MP3 players. The iPod looks cool, I can see that, the scroll wheel is really cool. But the Zen Touch, has both of those features (the iPod looks a litlle cooler) plus better audio, can use MP3, WMA etc, (no AAC, but all my music is in WMA) plus it's a little cheaper, which always helps. But the 40% goal I think is reachable.

Sonic

Comparing:

Touch wheel vs touch line: iPod wins. The Creative one is bothersome because you have to constantly change directions (up-down, up-down).

Battery life: Creative wins. Nearly double battery.

Simplicity: iPod/iTunes wins. Creative isn't far behind with drag+drop.