A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Another Flash question:

Another Flash question:

Postby Huntnsinme » Mon May 24, 2004 2:11 pm

to a flash guru: If I wanted to incorporate the movie "the Matrix" the scrolling code into a flash movie at the top of my web page, how could I do that? Size: the width of the page and height: 1 inch or maybe 2.?
I will need a step by step tutorisl on the matter..please..LOL I am a newbie at flash.
PROfessional Member

Postby adickers » Tue May 25, 2004 1:44 am

Greetings,

I am a flash guru - no kidding! I am going to run you through some simple items you'll need to gain mastery over in order to create some scrolling text like the matrix screen code displays....

1. You will need to get a good understanding of how the flash timeline works, especially with how movieclips work with the main timeline. Many newbies like to rush right into flash and place all of this content on the main timeline, and then freak out when they realize they can't control it the way they would like. You see, a movieclip IS a whole flash timeline that you can put anywhere, and control remotely. You can start it, stop it, scale it, make it transparent and so on...

You basic process is like this:
a. open a new document in Flash
b. create your graphics and animation (tweens)
c. select all of the frames which contain your graphics and animation
d. Select MODIFY -> CONVERT TO SYMBOL from the menu
e. Select Movie Clip.

This turns your designed element into, for lack of a better term, into a reusable component.

okay so know you have your cool animation designed, how do you get it to work. Here are a couple of other things you need to investigate:

Random Numbers:
/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\
In order for the code to look cool, the animation should look as little like a pattern and more like a real system. to this end, you need to read up on the Math.Random function, and how to use it to create random numbers.

Empty Movie Clips:
\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\