A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

port blocking

port blocking

Postby nightfire » Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:29 am

hey, i am doing some casual spring cleaning, and i have started blocking ports for the first time. I am using a motorola and the firmware sucks, but it works.

Does anyone have a sort of list that names all the ports and what they are used for? I want to try to block bit torrent :eek: It would be nice to patch up the router. Also, if anyone has the port for "maple stories" I need to block it :whistle

well, thanks for any help! ^*^
(Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 Mobo)(AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+)(3.5 GB high speed ram?)(EVGA Geforce 8800GTS)(500 GB and 1 TB Sata Drives)super high speed, 3COM 56k Modem!!
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 6:39 am
Location: Humboldt

Postby kd1966 » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:00 am

Hmmm..... that's interesting........ from personal experience, it is rather difficult to block BT, as you can choose what ports to use. Also, just because an app uses certain ports doesn't mean others will avoid using those same ports or that that app is limited to using only those ports...... I hope this make sense
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby nightfire » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:03 am

well, can i go a different direction? what about instead of blocking certain ports, just blocking all, and unblocking certain ones? that could possibly work if done right.

well, thanks
(Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 Mobo)(AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+)(3.5 GB high speed ram?)(EVGA Geforce 8800GTS)(500 GB and 1 TB Sata Drives)super high speed, 3COM 56k Modem!!
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 6:39 am
Location: Humboldt

Postby augie » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:11 am

The tracker comes in at port 6969 and the dl portion is 6881 thru 6999. I think if you block 6969 then you can't get a download. Try it and see if it works by grabbing a linux copy.

Hope that helps a bit.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Postby kd1966 » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:14 am

Sure, you can "block all"........ but at a disadvantage to you as well.............. better solution might be to block traffic from certain sites, or perhaps block the program itself, if possible
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby nightfire » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:29 am

well, i have blocked 6881 through 6999, i hope this works. I personally don't use bit torrent, but it is for another comp on my network. Will it just not work, or will bit torrent have "errors"?

well, thanks for the help
(Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 Mobo)(AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+)(3.5 GB high speed ram?)(EVGA Geforce 8800GTS)(500 GB and 1 TB Sata Drives)super high speed, 3COM 56k Modem!!
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 6:39 am
Location: Humboldt

Postby imnuts » Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:33 am

Here is the list of all assigned ports, probably more info than you need, but these are the registered protocol port numbers

<img src="/forum/images/smiles/source.jpg" alt="Source"> <a href="http://www.iana.org/assignments/port-numbers" target="_blank">IANA</a>
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Postby nightfire » Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:36 am

well, after blocking bit torrent, this is what my filter tab looked like on my motorola WR850G:

<img src="http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j27/ifil2003/filters.jpg" border="0">

so, i have blocked 6881 through 6999, i have made sure to block both udp and tcp. I have also blocked 65534 because it also kept popping up in my routing table from the same ip address. Here is what my routing table looked like when i waited a while. This was after i had applied the filter:

<img src="http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j27/ifil2003/routing.jpg" border="0">

so, my problem is, every time i look at the routing, it shows those ports being used(notice the enable checks)Why is this happening even after i blocked and filtered them? They keep automatically refreshing after a short time, or probably when the user connects.

well, thanks for any help
(Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 Mobo)(AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+)(3.5 GB high speed ram?)(EVGA Geforce 8800GTS)(500 GB and 1 TB Sata Drives)super high speed, 3COM 56k Modem!!
PRO Level 7
User avatar
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 6:39 am
Location: Humboldt

Postby imnuts » Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:46 pm

if the router has UPnP (universal plug and play), turn it off and then that should stop happening. It's likely that the torrent program has an auto forward via UPnP and it just tells the router to forward the appropriate ports to itself. This is why I recommend everyone turning off UPnP on their systems as you can never tell what it might be doing.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Return to Security & Virus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
cron