A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Points system for SMP2 work units

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

Points system for SMP2 work units

Postby augie » Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

There is going to be a new points structure once the SMP2 WU's come out to replace what we currently have now. No, they didn't give a release date for these except to say 'soon' in the FAH Blog/Jan.13 as is normal for Stanford. Seems relatively close since they have determined a points structure already. The limited beta testing must have gone well.

The post by kasson is long but does reveal some simple facts out of all of that's there. :blink :confused :silly:

Seems the Q6600@stock speeds is the new standard to go by.

Machine: A1 ppd: A2 ppd:
E6600 521 1663
Q6600-3.2 1933 6172
Q6600-2.4 1450 4629


That's a nice gain in PPD as an A2 on my stock Q6600 is 3.4K PPD. ^*^

Bonus points seem only to increase when the Q6600 is OC'd and more than likely running 24/7.

Machine: projected ppd:
E6600 903 (greater than A1, less than A2)
Q6600-3.2 6456 (greater than A2)
Q6600-2.4 4628 (approximately equal to A2)
P4 171 (on project 4442)
P4 228 (on project 6315)


When I find more info, I'll add to this thread.:)

Fold on brothas!
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Points system for SMP2 work units

Postby augie » Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:53 pm

Wow, a whopping 484 points for 17hrs of stock Q6600 SMP2 a3 crunching. Definitely need those bonus points to kick in to make the quad production at least respectable but with a loss of some %30 compared to an a2 VM. I've got some 8 days or so until I have 10 passkeyed WUs under my belt so I'll spend that time learning how to OC my machine to get the most out of what I have and to learn the ins and outs of SMP2.

It's kind of sad really when a stock Q6600 is going to be the tipping point of CPU's for future folding!

By the way, if you're trying out the a3s and using HFM without having 10 passkeyed WUs, be advised that you will see the bonus already calculated in the PPD so don't be disappointed like I was. HFM doesn't know if you have the 10 or not. Only Stanford knows and I doubt they'd add a column for a one time thing. As it is, they want everybody to use a passkey so are forcing us in that direction starting with the SMP2s.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Points system for SMP2 work units

Postby imnuts » Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:40 pm

I'm guessing these are 6xxx project numbers? I've gotten 3 that my SMP client has run so far and they seem to be taking about a day to run on my Core 2 Duo where the previous projects would take about 2 days to run. Looks like my PPD may improve by 1-200, though it looks a little to early to tell. I've also been running with a passkey for sometime now, so I don't need to worry about that aspect.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Re: Points system for SMP2 work units

Postby augie » Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:25 pm

Ya, 6011 to 6021 for now, you can see that on psummary. I'm surprised that you got them automatically? :confused I guess it is because you have done the 10 WUs needed for passkey production. Cool man, as what I've read dualies were going to lag behind a2's. You got that sucker cranked up Mark?

I'm not really sure why those are there though, gonna have to do some digging.

I know for a fact that one has to install the 6.29 client for the SMP2 to work. We are using the 6.29 beta for MPICH, bottom of page. Good luck with that!:)
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Points system for SMP2 work units

Postby imnuts » Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:13 pm

I just updated to the 6.29 beta a little bit ago (last week?), so that could be why I started getting them. So far, it looks like I've gotten 3 of them according to FAHMon. I've had 6012, 6014, and 6318.

EDIT: Looks like it's just 60xx WUs that are new, not the 6318. That one must have been from my server.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Re: Points system for SMP2 work units

Postby augie » Sat Jan 30, 2010 8:20 pm

LOL Mark, and here I thought that I was on top of things! ^*^ :lol: Well, in my defense, I was only late by a couple of days.;)
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest