A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Overclocking GTX260

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

Overclocking GTX260

Postby BILLMCC66 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 8:10 am

For the last two days i have been playing with the settings on my GTX260 but no matter what i do with the memory clock/core clock/shaders i can not get any improvement, in fact every thing i have tried has actually slowed the performance,so it's back to stock.
I don't know what is causing this?
Maybe i can put in more memory or maybe my power supply is maxing out, so any suggestions would be helpful.
thanks
Bill

Motherboard: KB008AA-B14 a6340.be

Basic I/O System(BIOS): BIOS Date: 12/31/07 10:10:58 Ver: 5.15

Central Processing Unit(CPU): Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz

Physical Memory X 2

1GB

1GB

Hard Disk X 2

SAMSUNG HD320KJ (298,09GB)

SAMSUNG HD320KJ (298,09GB)

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260

Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor

Audio Device: Realtek High Definition Audio

Network Adapter

Local Area Connection - Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0) (Connected)

Wireless Network Connection - USB Wireless 802.11 b/g Adaptor (Media disconnected)
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby yeshuas » Sat Jan 10, 2009 1:48 pm

What size power supply do you have?

With your system I wouldn't use less than a 600W, but recommend a 750 W.

I have as you can see in my signature a 750W and this is what I have my eVGA 260 set at

Image
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby BILLMCC66 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 2:34 pm

I am not sure how much power i have but it,s stock when i bought the PC
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby yeshuas » Sat Jan 10, 2009 2:44 pm

It is probably a 450W at best, and it will work but it will definately be straining, and will tax your entire system.
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby BILLMCC66 » Sat Jan 10, 2009 3:01 pm

Just out of curiosity i set my VGA to your setting and it immediately knocked 2000PPD off so i re booted and reset it.

It,s too late now here so Monday i will buy a new power unit plus 2GB more of ram and then get back to playing. Image

Thanks for the input

Bill
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby augie » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:24 pm

Well, I talked to friend who has a 260 and this is what he said:

Back to Folding. I use RivaTuner to overclock. I unlink the Core and Shader Clocks. I have my Shader clock at 1409MHz. Need to up that some, need more better points...

Temp wise, I use Rivatuner to adjust the fan speed manually. Around 90% seems to work well in folding, gaming and overall noise. GPU-Z shows these temps: GPU Temp 51C GPU Temp 43.5C (not sure why there are 2, it is not a dual GPU card) PCB Temp 41.5C. It is around 70F in here right now.

FahMon says 7212 PPD. This is on a dual core E6600, 2GB RAM.


Well, right now FaHMon says I am getting 7540PPD off this card. I cranked up the Shader to 1445. Temps are about the same.

Nice little site you fold for. Great to see people getting into the folding!

Hope this card stays stable!
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby yeshuas » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:29 pm

augie wrote:Well, I talked to friend who has a 260 and this is what he said:

Back to Folding. I use RivaTuner to overclock. I unlink the Core and Shader Clocks. I have my Shader clock at 1409MHz. Need to up that some, need more better points...

Temp wise, I use Rivatuner to adjust the fan speed manually. Around 90% seems to work well in folding, gaming and overall noise. GPU-Z shows these temps: GPU Temp 51C GPU Temp 43.5C (not sure why there are 2, it is not a dual GPU card) PCB Temp 41.5C. It is around 70F in here right now.

FahMon says 7212 PPD. This is on a dual core E6600, 2GB RAM.


Well, right now FaHMon says I am getting 7540PPD off this card. I cranked up the Shader to 1445. Temps are about the same.

Nice little site you fold for. Great to see people getting into the folding!

Hope this card stays stable!


I either have a better case, or my ambient temp is lower or both, because my temp seems at least as good as he is getting. I know I have a good case Lian-Li, and my wife keeps the window open in our bedroom, and it is right by my computer. ^*^
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby augie » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:46 pm

BILLMCC66 wrote:Just out of curiosity i set my VGA to your setting and it immediately knocked 2000PPD off so i re booted and reset it.

It,s too late now here so Monday i will buy a new power unit plus 2GB more of ram and then get back to playing. Image

Thanks for the input

Bill


You don't need that much memory to GPU fold, I have a couple of 9800GT's and CPU SMP folding in VMWare under Ubuntu and everything is only using 1.42GB in total. this is vista.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby augie » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:47 pm

I either have a better case, or my ambient temp is lower or both, because my temp seems at least as good as he is getting. I know I have a good case Lian-Li, and my wife keeps the window open in our bedroom, and it is right by my computer. ^*^


He lives in Louisiana, therefore the ambient.;)
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby yeshuas » Sat Jan 10, 2009 5:57 pm

I am in Chicago and my CPU is at an average of 27 or so and, well you see my GPU temp is around 51 ;)
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Next

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests