A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Overclocking GTX260

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby augie » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:58 pm

BTW, the nVidia 'Precision' OC tool is a crippled version of RivaTuner though with a cuter GUI.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby leo27 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:00 am

if you want a major performance increase consider overclocking your processor first. My rig has q6600 and a 280gtx and i noticed an increase in graphic performance up until my processor reached 3.2ghz and then graphical performance had reached it peak. This means that with your q6600 at stock it is bottlenecking your 260gtx and therefore overclocking the graphics card is not going to give you that much more performance.

Now i've noticed your motherboard is from a hp pavilion, this means that to overclock your processor you'd need a new motherboard (since oem motherboard can't be overclocked), you'd also need a better heatsink as well as a new power supply. If this is out of the question, i'd suggest you just get a new powersupply since it will be running near or slighly over it's maximum specs to power a 260gtx.

If you want to overclock your processor let me know. I managed to get my q6600 to 3.2ghz at 1.325v (1.312v in cpuz) which is the stock voltage of this processor, i was then able to overclock my 280gtx to 702 core 1404 shader and 1323 memory with a rivatuner profile to increase the gpu fan speed when the gpu is under load (ie entering a game) .
PRO Level 4
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 6:00 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby BILLMCC66 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 12:38 pm

I pushed the shaders up just a little and got a small increase but i think until i get a bigger power supply i am not going to get a great improvement.
Tomorrow i will shut down and open the tower to see what i have got in there and go to my local PC shop and see what he has in stock.
I have to be careful when i visit him because he always shows me new toys and i end up spending too much of my allowance (and mom gets angry)

In the apartment here we have the heating set at constant 23C and my PC tower is built into a desk so the ambient is 30C and the GPU runs 60C so it's well inside the limits.
Outside it's -10C so maybe i should sit in the garageImage
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby BILLMCC66 » Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:47 pm

leo27 wrote:if you want a major performance increase consider overclocking your processor first. My rig has q6600 and a 280gtx and i noticed an increase in graphic performance up until my processor reached 3.2ghz and then graphical performance had reached it peak. This means that with your q6600 at stock it is bottlenecking your 260gtx and therefore overclocking the graphics card is not going to give you that much more performance.

Now i've noticed your motherboard is from a hp pavilion, this means that to overclock your processor you'd need a new motherboard (since oem motherboard can't be overclocked), you'd also need a better heatsink as well as a new power supply. If this is out of the question, i'd suggest you just get a new powersupply since it will be running near or slighly over it's maximum specs to power a 260gtx.

If you want to overclock your processor let me know. I managed to get my q6600 to 3.2ghz at 1.325v (1.312v in cpuz) which is the stock voltage of this processor, i was then able to overclock my 280gtx to 702 core 1404 shader and 1323 memory with a rivatuner profile to increase the gpu fan speed when the gpu is under load (ie entering a game) .


I do not really need such a lot of extra performance as my only use for it is folding.
If as you say the CPU can not be overclocked i suppose i could push the FSB up a little but it's not that important.

thanks for the input
Bill
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby BILLMCC66 » Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:10 pm

Well i bought a new PSU today an ANTEC AE650 plus 2memory sticks of 2GB and the whole package for under $150 it's now just when i am going to shutdown and install it.
I have never done a PSU before so it will be a slow and careful job.Image
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby augie » Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:54 pm

BILLMCC66 wrote:Well i bought a new PSU today an ANTEC AE650 plus 2memory sticks of 2GB and the whole package for under $150 it's now just when i am going to shutdown and install it.
I have never done a PSU before so it will be a slow and careful job.Image


Cool, see you on the flip side. ^*^
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby BILLMCC66 » Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:03 am

Well it's all installed, i waited untill the boss went to bed.
It took about 2 hours in all so we will see if i gain anything.
The PSU that was stock in the PC was 300 watts,no wonder the machine was warm (hot)Image
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby yeshuas » Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:42 am

BILLMCC66 wrote:Well it's all installed, i waited untill the boss went to bed.
It took about 2 hours in all so we will see if i gain anything.
The PSU that was stock in the PC was 300 watts,no wonder the machine was warm (hot)Image


Dang that is the same size that came in my wifes old Dell P3 900MHz she bought like 7 years ago no wonder
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby NT50 » Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:55 am

Quick question.

Why overclock? I'm gettign 245 FPS in COD4 with stock nvidia.com driver, and no overclocking anything. I'm also running at a res of 1680:1050 in the game....................................
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Re: Overclocking GTX260

Postby augie » Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:18 am

BILLMCC66 wrote:Well it's all installed, i waited untill the boss went to bed.
It took about 2 hours in all so we will see if i gain anything.
The PSU that was stock in the PC was 300 watts,no wonder the machine was warm (hot)Image


Nice, an underpowered rig is a dead rig.:) ^*^ IMO Waiting to see some PPD increases :yesnod: . Oh, you should have gotten an extra fan or two while you were at it. An underpowered PSU will create extra unnecessary heat, check your temps be nice to know.:)
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Previous

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests