A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Only boots into XP even after installing VistaBootPro

Forum rules
This forum is meant for support of PRO Software only. PROnetworks reserves the right to edit any topic title to better explain the contents of a post. We also may move your post to a more suitable forum if necessary.

It may take our support staff up to 24 hours to respond to your problem. We appreciate your patience.

Only boots into XP even after installing VistaBootPro

Postby cindyfiller » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:13 pm

I created a dual boot system - it was originally Vista and I added XP. I installed the VistaBootPro, but the pc still only boots to XP. Within VistaBootPro it displays both operating systems properly, but when I restart or turn on the machine I never get a menu to choose which OS I want to start. How do I fix this.
PRO New Member

Re: Only boots into XP after installing VisatBootPro

Postby leo27 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:45 pm

hey i'm not an expert at vistabootpro but i do know that for the support team to be able to help you you need to post your boot information listed in vistabootpro. This will allow the experts to spot any potential problems.

this is an example of what the information in vistabootpro looks like so you know what to post

There is currently 2 OS(s) installed on your system.
The current boot timeout is: 30

Default OS: Microsoft Windows Vista

Entry 1
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Name: Microsoft Windows Vista
BCD ID: {current}
Boot Drive: C:
Windows Drive: C:
System Bootloader: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
Windows Directory: \Windows

Entry 2
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Name: Windows XP
BCD ID: {ntldr}
Boot Drive: D:
System Bootloader: \ntldr
PRO Level 4

Postby louisc22 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:59 pm

When you restart your computer keep pressing f5 untill it brings you to a screen with a list of boot options select the bottom one.