A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

"Ntoskrnl.exe missing or corrupt" with dual boot

Forum rules
Please start your own topic for support with problems you experience. Even if it appears to be exactly the same as someone else's problem, system configurations differ significantly. Thank you.

It may take our support staff between 24-48 hours to respond to your problem. We are a small business and strive to answer your questions as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience.

"Ntoskrnl.exe missing or corrupt" with dual boot

Postby skypix » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:01 pm

Hi, I've tried what I know how to do and I'm stuck, hope someone can help.

I did a search of the Ntoskrnl.exe phrase but seems like lots of people are having installation issues, mine is something else I think.

I've been running a dual-boot VBP setup for 2 years now, flawlessly. OS's are Vista 64 and Windows XP, with XP being the one where the VBP files are stored, as I recall, i.e. XP is the primary for the dual boot setup.

Recently, XP just wouldn't boot and I got the "could not start - missing or corrupt windows root>system32>ntoskrnl.exe" error. black screen, drive clicks, nothing else happens.

Vista 64 boots great and I've been using that, but would like to get back into my XP without having to go through relearning all the dual boot stuff I've forgotten.

Problem is, though I replaced the Ntoskrnl.exe with a fresh version, and it gave me a "windows did not boot normally last time, select safe or normal or whatever" message, it still hung. Once it hung on that very message. So I'm back to square one, as I don't know how to do the Windows disk repair thing from a normal boot up with the dual boot setup in place.