A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

NIC failing?

NIC failing?

Postby j8k3sp00n » Sun Jul 14, 2002 12:42 am

Hi All,

I had a PCI based 10baseT NIC apparently fail under XP a few days ago and spent several hours troubleshooting the problem before I realized what had happened. XP Pro has a check box in the Power Management tab of the NIC properties box that allows XP to turn the NIC off to save power; it's primarily useful for laptops.

XP turns them off really good, but does not turn them back on when XP is used again. I had to power down, remove all power, not just the XP turn off the computer function, to restore the NIC.

This was a Realtek NIC, not your average expensive NIC, so the problem might be isolated to this type of NIC with XP.

Anyway, if a NIC apparently fails, check to see if XP has powered it down before replacing the NIC and the patch cord.

HTH somebody.

Cheers!
PRO Level 8
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:01 pm
Location: Baking my brains out on high ground in Sacramento

Postby XJan87 » Sun Jul 14, 2002 6:20 am

Are you sure you haven't set your computer to hibernate instead of turning off?
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 5:05 am
Location: Finland

Postby j8k3sp00n » Sun Jul 14, 2002 3:52 pm

Yes, I stopped hibernation a couple of months ago but did an update to a larger hard drive. So, just before I wrote this I went back and checked. Hibernation is NOT checked.

However, the monitor turns off in 10 min, the hard drives in 15 min, and system goes to standby in 30 min. No matter. If XP turns off a NIC or anything else, it ought to turn it back on when it becomes active again.

I'm repeating but I spent at least an hour troubleshooting why the NIC or patch cord was dead and was on the verge of replacing the NIC, which was problematical because of where the computer sits, when I recycled the power switch and the NIC awakened.

I think it's a bug in XP, but I doubt if the Realteck NIC is on the HCL, so it's largely a moot point. I posted in case others might encounter the same problem.

I, for one, do not honor the HCL except when I'm doing work for a paying customer. Then I want everything to be straight down the line.

Thanks for you help.
PRO Level 8
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:01 pm
Location: Baking my brains out on high ground in Sacramento

Postby XJan87 » Sun Jul 14, 2002 4:42 pm

Have you installed all the Windows Updates?
I think there are a few power related ones...
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 711
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 5:05 am
Location: Finland

Return to Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron
cron