A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

MDAC Problems [Vista home basic]

MDAC Problems [Vista home basic]

Postby Norman Castle » Mon Aug 23, 2010 6:20 pm

I was having trouble creating an ODBC data source for SQL Server. I googled for help, and found a page advising that MDAC should be installed. I downloaded from the Microsoft page here and installed. SQL Server instantly stopped working altogether.

I want to uninstall MDAC. How can I do this?

    * I don't see MDAC in the list of installed system updates, so I can't uninstall. It might be there under a different name, one of those long numbers, but I don't know which one.
    * I've tried system restore, hoping to rollback to before the install. It fails, due to unknown error.
    * I tried uninstalling and re-installing SQL Server. It didn't make a difference.
    * I've tried Component Checker. I understand this can be used to sort out MDAC problems. I get an error message telling me that CC doesn't work on Vista.


Please help.
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 5:47 pm

Re: MDAC Problems [Vista home basic]

Postby yeshuas » Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:03 pm

When you went into "Control Panel" and then "Programs and Features" (or whatever it is called in Vista) and then click on "View Installed Updates" it is not showing up there as MDAC?

Actually from what I have read on it, it should have already been included or installed as long as you had I.E. 5 or newer installed, so you may have had or still have some other issue going on.
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: MDAC Problems [Vista home basic]

Postby Norman Castle » Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:54 pm

yeshuas wrote:When you went into "Control Panel" and then "Programs and Features" (or whatever it is called in Vista) and then click on "View Installed Updates" it is not showing up there as MDAC?


Not as far as I can see, no. Maybe it's there and I missed it, or maybe it's there under one of those long strings of numbers and letters.
PRO New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 5:47 pm

Return to General Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 3 guests