A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

leewkf.exe

leewkf.exe

Postby 10pair » Fri May 12, 2006 2:13 pm

does anybody know what leewkf.exe is? it's in a friend of mine's C:\Windows\ folder on xp sp1, and his third-party firewall wants to know if it should be allowed to access the 'net or not.

Googled it but drew a complete blank :dontgetit

Found vague mentions of it at Altavista
Last edited by 10pair on Fri May 12, 2006 2:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Skype available if necessary, PM for my ID
PRO Level 9
User avatar
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:30 pm
Location: Liverpool Area, UK

Postby kd1966 » Fri May 12, 2006 2:18 pm

Looks to be possibly part of some spyware stuff; Elite Toolbar/sidebar and/or iSearch Toolbar. If you're familiar with malware removal, that's what that system needs.

Oh, and deny that file access to Internet.................
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby 10pair » Fri May 12, 2006 2:21 pm

thanks kd.. I ran fresh installs of spybot snd, adaware and avg just now, and this file persisted through all 3 scans, cheeky lil beggar

i'll checkout those 2 leads you've given us there, nice one thanks :)
Skype available if necessary, PM for my ID
PRO Level 9
User avatar
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:30 pm
Location: Liverpool Area, UK

Postby Absolute-Zero » Fri May 12, 2006 2:22 pm

Yeah, if you can't find it on Google, it shouldn't be there IMHO.
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 2495
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 2:46 pm
Location: Forever blowing bubbles...
Real Name: Dan

Postby kd1966 » Fri May 12, 2006 2:23 pm

You'll need to start off by uninstalling those toolbars if they are in the add/remove programs, then likely you'll have to go to safemode and do your scans/removal. Good luck!
PRO PLATINUM
User avatar
Posts: 6831
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 2:00 am
Location: USA - GSO - NC

Postby augie » Fri May 12, 2006 6:13 pm

You can also install Spybot's sister app SpywareBlaster after you get rid of the offending toolbar. This will prevent future hijacks. Also have your friend update XP to SP2 as this will help also. One other thing, I hope he knows to not download 'free apps' that one gets unasked for as many of those are loaded with that garbage. Nothing is free. :no
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Postby x0000000009 » Fri May 12, 2006 7:10 pm

I don't like spybot myself. doesn't catch programs. after extended use I've noticed that it bogs the computer down too.
PRO Level 5
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:32 pm
Location: mid-west

Postby augie » Fri May 12, 2006 7:53 pm

x0000000009 wrote:I don't like spybot myself. doesn't catch programs. after extended use I've noticed that it bogs the computer down too.


I'm sorry, I don't understand the slowdown you're experiencing as Spybot is not a resident program, it just scans when you want it to and if you immunize, it just writes to the hosts file to reject these programs from loading in the first place.

SpywareBlaster is the same, it asks you if you want to change your home page but doesn't run in the background either. Can you please tell us how Spybot slows your system down? I'm curious as I have never seen that. Thanks.

BTW, with XP SP2 along with AVG/ZA free all I get from a Spybot run is cookies, which I could care less about. I even stopped running Ad-Aware as it was a waste of time IMO, just gave me the same info as Spybot plus a few other cookies.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Postby x0000000009 » Fri May 12, 2006 8:09 pm

spybot does load when windows loads. A cache file becomes larger and larger. After about a year of running spybot, the cache file became several hundered MB large, at that point removing spybot spead up the performance of the computer. I don't think AVG is very usefull either. Just removed some viruses from a customers computer the other day that had spybot and AVG. Both programs where effectively doing nothing so i removed them and put the 1 month demo of NOD32 on. Fixed all the problems.
PRO Level 5
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 2:32 pm
Location: mid-west

Postby augie » Fri May 12, 2006 8:53 pm

x0000000009 wrote:spybot does load when windows loads. A cache file becomes larger and larger. After about a year of running spybot, the cache file became several hundered MB large, at that point removing spybot spead up the performance of the computer. I don't think AVG is very usefull either. Just removed some viruses from a customers computer the other day that had spybot and AVG. Both programs where effectively doing nothing so i removed them and put the 1 month demo of NOD32 on. Fixed all the problems.


As to Spybot loading as a resident program, I can't duplicate that. Can you point me to where the cache file is please?

I haven't had any proplems with a AVG/ZA free setup except for a hijack after which I installed Spybot and have been clean since along with proper surfing habits.

I don't have a repair shop but can understand if some of your less knowledgeble customers installed something in spite of the protection offered, people do some strange things at times, like my friends! Then I fix it for them.

As to NOD32, many of the staff use and love it but I can't afford it yet. Thanks for your input. :yesnod:
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Next

Return to Security & Virus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
cron