A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Its that time again = new desktop!

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby Sisco22 » Fri Jul 24, 2009 1:43 pm

Yeah, i didn't see any that i really liked that had DDR5 on it. All DDR3 as you stated. Would you recommend a better ATI card? or is there a better one? The reviews were ok on that particular card. Just not sure what i should do on this side of it.
Image
PRO Level 14
User avatar
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Real Name: Adam Lowe

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby NT50 » Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:20 pm

Check on the ASUS MB specs for the i7. Some of the new ASUS MBs are not running dual channel on the memory and actually running triple channel and would require you to buy 3 sticks of RAM to get it. I got a chance last week to see one in action. Get the triple channel memory based MB if you can.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby Sisco22 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:13 pm

http://www.staples.com/office/supplies/ ... &langId=-1

i kinda thinking about this one, being the price and what all it has in it. Thats really not a bad system, lacking video card, but that can be changed.

What do you think?
Image
PRO Level 14
User avatar
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Real Name: Adam Lowe

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby NT50 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:20 pm

I would not give HP the time of day. They use the cheapest memory, cheapest motherboards, cheapest power supplies, cheapest everything. How do you think they make money?

If you want a good system then build it.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby Sisco22 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:25 pm

lol yeah i know..i should build it..i just didn't want to sink all the money into it :)

i'll just have to break down and do it.
Image
PRO Level 14
User avatar
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Real Name: Adam Lowe

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby NT50 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 4:26 pm

What is your budget?
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby Sisco22 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 6:09 pm

no budget really...
Image
PRO Level 14
User avatar
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Real Name: Adam Lowe

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby NT50 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:43 pm

What I would do is (if you can) wait for Windows 7 to be released and then hopefully the video cards will be DX 11 compatible.
If not the either build a nice Quad core or build an i7.

If you woudl like me to put together a configureation for you via newegg let me know.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby Sisco22 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:49 pm

i was kinda putting together a list on newegg..but i can't decide on the i7 or a AMD Phenom II x4 955...if you want, see what kind of configuration you can come up with...im open to anything...i just sold my Gateway FX laptop and need to start building one soon. im getting that itch pretty badly! hahaha! :drool:
Image
PRO Level 14
User avatar
Posts: 964
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:25 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Real Name: Adam Lowe

Re: Its that time again = new desktop!

Postby NT50 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:26 pm

If I was buying today this is probably what I would order:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131386

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819115202

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820227366

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814130480

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6811112233

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6827106327

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6817341003

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822136296
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822136320

If money is not an object and you don't mind havign a 150 gig HD then the VelociRaptor is the way to go for performance.

Edit: I would nto buy AMD right now, they can not touch the Intel. As for the three sticks of ram, that motherboard runs Triple Channel so you need three sticks.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

PreviousNext

Return to Hardware and Customizing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests