A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Installing Ubuntu in VMWare issue.

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

Re: Installing Ubuntu in VMWare issue.

Postby imnuts » Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:26 am

Are most people here that are running dual-core doing so primarily on an Intel system? Just wondering as I don't have access to any dual-core AMD, so I'm setting it up for Intel. It's coming along slowly, but hopefully I'll have something ready to test by this weekend.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Re: Installing Ubuntu in VMWare issue.

Postby yeshuas » Wed Mar 04, 2009 12:41 am

imnuts wrote:Are most people here that are running dual-core doing so primarily on an Intel system? Just wondering as I don't have access to any dual-core AMD, so I'm setting it up for Intel. It's coming along slowly, but hopefully I'll have something ready to test by this weekend.

I have all Intel machines, I traded my last AMD machine for a Dell Laptop.

I have a Core 2 Quad Q6600
a Core 2 duo E6600
and a Dual Core Pentiun D930
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: Installing Ubuntu in VMWare issue.

Postby augie » Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:01 am

imnuts wrote:Are most people here that are running dual-core doing so primarily on an Intel system? Just wondering as I don't have access to any dual-core AMD, so I'm setting it up for Intel. It's coming along slowly, but hopefully I'll have something ready to test by this weekend.


Ya, we're all running Intel quads with various GPU's. If you'd like, I can split this off as I believe it should be a separate thread or start your own when you're ready.:)
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: Installing Ubuntu in VMWare issue.

Postby yeshuas » Wed Mar 04, 2009 2:43 am

Ok I am trying to get this to run on my P5W DH Deluxe MB with a Core 2 Duo E6600, 4 GB Ram, running Windows 7, which is also running the ATI GPU (a lot slower I know)

When I got to the step that was to install the math, it said more or less that it did not need it, we will see.

It appears to be working, although it is taking about 18 minutes per percent
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Previous

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
cron