A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

in SIMPLE non-jargon pc talk....

in SIMPLE non-jargon pc talk....

Postby JeremyStoeckel » Mon Nov 01, 2004 6:40 pm

what is the best way to backup everything on my hard drive. pretty much in a way that i could restore my pc the exact way it is today if something horrible happened...thanks
PRO Level 4
User avatar
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: St Louis, MO

Postby ginogsm » Mon Nov 01, 2004 6:45 pm

Use Symantec's ghost to do that. It is the best way around.
Image
<a href="http://www.vistamania.org/" target="_blank"><img src="http://parcom.pro-networks.org/images/vistamania35zu.gif" border="0"></a>
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Frankfurt , Germany
Real Name: George

Postby JeremyStoeckel » Mon Nov 01, 2004 6:47 pm

is it pretty self explanatory or should i read about it somewhere??
PRO Level 4
User avatar
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: St Louis, MO

Postby Playr » Mon Nov 01, 2004 6:49 pm

Exactly? There is a software called Ghost from Symantec. With this software you can copy your hard drive as a file. When you need to, you can extract this file back onto a hard drive. Exactly as when you made that file.

Unless you are just talking about backing up your data. You can copy your data to any media, like a CD or a memory stick. By backing up your data, if you had to re-do your PC, you would have to reinstall your software again.
Image
PRO Level 2
User avatar
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:39 am
Location: New York, USA

Postby Playr » Mon Nov 01, 2004 6:59 pm

There are several ways of using Ghost. You can read up on it here...

http://www.symantec.com/sabu/ghost/ghost_personal/
PRO Level 2
User avatar
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2004 4:39 am
Location: New York, USA

Postby ginogsm » Mon Nov 01, 2004 6:59 pm

JeremyStoeckel wrote:is it pretty self explanatory or should i read about it somewhere??


As simple as it can be. You just follow certain steps in order to backup your disk.

The options are Disk to disk , Disk to image , disk to partition , partition to image , image to disk. After you have chosen what you want it to do then you just choose the source and the destination disk , partitions , folder and watch it happen.

It supports NTFS and ext3 too.
Image
<a href="http://www.vistamania.org/" target="_blank"><img src="http://parcom.pro-networks.org/images/vistamania35zu.gif" border="0"></a>
Image
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Frankfurt , Germany
Real Name: George

Postby QContinuum » Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:30 am

I say SCSI and ghosting. SCSI will cover a hardware problem with one of the HDDs and ghosting will give you a fresh install with all your drivers if your computer does somthing catastrophic like catch on fire or somthing. I know thats sad to think about
PRO Level 2
User avatar
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2004 8:43 pm
Location: MI, USA

Postby xeo196 » Fri Nov 05, 2004 2:49 am

I am not sure if this is correct. Since I did it long time ago. With Ghost we have to use same size HDs, don't we?

I my company, we use harddrive duplicator. It costs several thousands but man it is fast with 10 HDs at the same time.

xeo
Image
My PC Specs?
I don't know.
I use dump terminal.
PRO Level 10
Posts: 417
Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: I am right behind you.

Postby scribbs » Fri Nov 05, 2004 3:42 am

A couple of clarifications:

1. I think QContinuum meant RAID, not SCSI.

2. Ghost works great but needs access to an additional storage area, like a second partition, second hard drive or network storage. If the second partition is NTFS, you won't be able to ghost to it with a DOS disk because DOS can't read NTFS. However, BartPE will let you ghost to an NTFS partition and makes it incredibly easy to ghost to a network share. As for the space needed, ghost compresses your data and stores it in an image file, much like a zip program would. So, however tight your data can be compressed is how large the image file will be.

If you let me know what kind of additonal storage space you have, I can give you better instructions on how you might use it best.
PRO Level 3
User avatar
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: Georgia, USA

Postby RRCinci » Fri Nov 05, 2004 4:01 am

xeo196 wrote:I am not sure if this is correct. Since I did it long time ago. With Ghost we have to use same size HDs, don't we?

I my company, we use harddrive duplicator. It costs several thousands but man it is fast with 10 HDs at the same time.

xeo


You're remembering an older version of Ghost...they've moved on in a dramatic way! Now you can go from smaller to larger...or from larger to smaller. From NTFS, FAT32, FAT or almost any other kind of file system. And it all runs off a single floppy disk! Very sweet!

Paul
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.
-Robert A. Heinlein

longhornrulescensor444 Here

<a href='http://www.pro-networks.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=62589' target='_blank'><img src='http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/4245/pronetkatrinahelp7gs.gif'></a>
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 1577
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:38 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Next

Return to General Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Elulgenen, Google [Bot] and 0 guests