A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

I've installed, but how do I know it's working

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

I've installed, but how do I know it's working

Postby kanaloa » Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:31 am

I seem to remember this same problem last time I tried it. How do I know if it's working? I've had it installed for over a day, had my computer sitting idle for some time - but it still says nothing about any presence on the team or points. Am I doing something wrong? It's down in my tray next to the clock, showing progress of ##/1500 (and then starts another).

I have specified a username and team number in the config.

:confused Help.
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Re: I've installed, but how do I know it's working

Postby augie » Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:48 am

kanaloa wrote:I seem to remember this same problem last time I tried it. How do I know if it's working? I've had it installed for over a day, had my computer sitting idle for some time - but it still says nothing about any presence on the team or points. Am I doing something wrong? It's down in my tray next to the clock, showing progress of ##/1500 (and then starts another).

I have specified a username and team number in the config.

:confused Help.


Grab FahMon and point it to your F@H directory, it'll give you all the info you want about the current status. You will not see anything on Stanford's site or EOC until your first WU is done.

I'll be on for another hour so just ask away.:)

BTW, welcome aboard again John.:)

What are you running ATM, SMP/GPU or a systray client and which OS as XP and Vista put them in different areas? Also depends on the client you're running. Don't worry, I'll explain all the acronyms in the AM.:)

EDIT:Geez man, my memory comes in dribs and drabs. :oops: You can also check task managers performance tabs.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Re: I've installed, but how do I know it's working

Postby BILLMCC66 » Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:07 am

kanaloa wrote:I seem to remember this same problem last time I tried it. How do I know if it's working? I've had it installed for over a day, had my computer sitting idle for some time - but it still says nothing about any presence on the team or points. Am I doing something wrong? It's down in my tray next to the clock, showing progress of ##/1500 (and then starts another).

I have specified a username and team number in the config.

:confused Help.

You are producing John,you are currently 71 in the list but you should climb rapidly.Image

http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/ ... s=&t=13790
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: I've installed, but how do I know it's working

Postby kanaloa » Mon Jan 12, 2009 2:53 pm

Woohoo, on the map at last. Thanks guys, I'll look back at this thread tonight and check my settings again at home. To bad I can run a few of the servers here at work on this :whistle
"Greatness is not a function of circumstance. Greatness, it turns out, is largely a matter of conscious choice, and discipline." - Jim Collins
President
User avatar
Posts: 11795
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 1:18 am
Location: Columbia, SC
Real Name: John Derrick

Re: I've installed, but how do I know it's working

Postby augie » Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:15 pm

There ya go John, you are on the map now! ^*^
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests