A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

HTML help

HTML help

Postby imnuts » Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:29 pm

I want to know if there is an html command that will open links in a new window when they are clicked. i think there is i just don't know what it is. if it can't be done with html, then what would i need to use to get the new window upon being clicked.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Postby imnuts » Wed Jun 09, 2004 7:55 pm

i have another html question for all of you people. how do you protect images on a webpage so that people can't copy them or save them. i've seen it places but i've never thought about looking at the source to see what was keeping me from saving the image.
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Postby ODiaz86 » Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:00 pm

imnuts wrote:i have another html question for all of you people. how do you protect images on a webpage so that people can't copy them or save them. i've seen it places but i've never thought about looking at the source to see what was keeping me from saving the image.


Here to Protect images
Here is what you will need:
1) The image that you want to protect
2) A blank GIF overlay (I will provide it for you)
3) A few lines of HTML to display them together

This technique works by displaying a transparent GIF overlay on top of your real image. When a user right-clicks to save it they will save the blank GIF file instead of your real image. Below is the HTML code used to display these images together.

<!-- ------------------------------------------------------------------------- -->
<!-- TABLE TO DISPLAY IMAGE WITH THE BLANK GIF OVERLAY -->
<!-- ------------------------------------------------------------------------- -->
<TABLE border=0 cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0><TR>
<TD background="RealImage.jpg" width="470" height="270">
<IMG src="blank.gif" width="470" height="270" hspace=0 vspace=0 border=0></td>
</TR></TABLE>

Use the HTML above in place of your normal IMG tag. You need to change the RealImage.jpg reference to that of your own image and change the width and height tags (in both places) to the dimensions of your image. The table only contains 1 cell. Your real image is displayed as the table background and the blank overlay is displayed as the cell content. Since the GIF overlay is considered to be on top, a right click on it will cause you to save the blank overlay instead of the real image.
Image
Image
PRO Level 12
User avatar
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 3:33 pm
Location: Millville, New Jersey - USA
Real Name: Omar Diaz

Postby ODiaz86 » Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:01 pm

I Got that from here.
Image
Image
PRO Level 12
User avatar
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 3:33 pm
Location: Millville, New Jersey - USA
Real Name: Omar Diaz

Postby imnuts » Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:24 pm

ok, thanks omar, now if i could get an answer to my first question it would be great
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Postby ODiaz86 » Wed Jun 09, 2004 8:40 pm

I gotta look on your first question. I've Be Back with some of the anwser.
Last edited by ODiaz86 on Thu Jun 10, 2004 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
PRO Level 12
User avatar
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2002 3:33 pm
Location: Millville, New Jersey - USA
Real Name: Omar Diaz

Postby shougan » Wed Jun 09, 2004 9:59 pm

Code: Select all
<a href=""
target="_blank"> </a>
Do you want the latest news on Betas & Software, Security, or even Vista? Check out our <a href="http://www.pro-networks.org/forum/home_index.php" target="_blank" class="postlink">news areas</a> and be sure to <a href="http://www.pro-networks.org/main/newsletters.htm" target="_blank" class="postlink">subscribe to our PROneT newsletters!</a>
PRO Level 15
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 2:12 am
Location: Western Hemisphere

Postby shougan » Wed Jun 09, 2004 10:00 pm

That should make it open in another window....
Do you want the latest news on Betas & Software, Security, or even Vista? Check out our <a href="http://www.pro-networks.org/forum/home_index.php" target="_blank" class="postlink">news areas</a> and be sure to <a href="http://www.pro-networks.org/main/newsletters.htm" target="_blank" class="postlink">subscribe to our PROneT newsletters!</a>
PRO Level 15
Posts: 1174
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 2:12 am
Location: Western Hemisphere

Postby imnuts » Thu Jun 10, 2004 4:23 am

^*^ ^*^ :notworthy thank you, i'll work on putting that into my site tomorrow
Image
PRO SUPREME
User avatar
Posts: 7457
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2004 5:19 am
Location: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Real Name: Mark

Postby ~Spider~ » Thu Jun 10, 2004 4:29 am

I made two files
1. index.htm
2. 2.htm

I opened 2.htm in a new window. Here is the html

Code: Select all
<html>

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="en-us">
<meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage 5.0">
<meta name="ProgId" content="FrontPage.Editor.Document">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<title>1</title>
</head>

<body>

<p><a target="_blank" href="2.htm">2</a></p>

</body>

</html>
PRO Level 10
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 6:33 am
Location: USA

Next

Return to HTML, CSS, and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron
cron