A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

How do I delete folding as a service

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

Postby e to the x » Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:36 pm

how do you unisntall the folding service?
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby augie » Sun Nov 30, 2008 6:33 pm

What I did in XP was to go into services and stop the client first, then through the command prompt and call up client with the '-configonly' flag and just say no in answer to the question 'Do you want to run this as a service?' This should get you back to console mode, remember to create a shortcut after a reboot so that you can easily start it again if needed. This will leave a taskbar entry. I've also done it through the registry.

I noticed you've been having problems the past few days, not sure if that's the culprit or you have a different reason for doing this.

BTW, I split your post off as this could be needed by others and would get lost in that humungous thread.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Postby e to the x » Sun Nov 30, 2008 8:06 pm

i was wondering where this went!!!!

Yes I have been having issues with the GPU client. I can't watch a movie when its running and it gives me a BSOD and crashed the PC.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby augie » Sun Nov 30, 2008 9:30 pm

e to the x wrote:i was wondering where this went!!!!

Yes I have been having issues with the GPU client. I can't watch a movie when its running and it gives me a BSOD and crashed the PC.


Hmm, it doesn't happen to me but that's neither here or there eh?;) If you run it as I suggested above, you can kill it easily anytime you want to from the taskbar and with a shortcut, just as easily reinstate it with a double click from your desktop.

Hehe, sorry about the move of the post withot letting you know.:)
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron