A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

HELP! Build Problems!

HELP! Build Problems!

Postby e to the x » Sat Nov 15, 2008 11:25 pm

Hey everyone! i am ahving some problems with my new computer build.

I have a Gigabyte GA-EP45C-DS3R MoBo, Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200, OCZ Platinum DDR3 1600 RAM, EVGA 7800GT and some hard drives...

I put it all together last night and went to start it this morning and it won't work! It will sometimes POST, but other times won't and will just restart itself over and over again. I was trying to update the BIOS as I was told there are issues with the BIOS it is shipped with and when I did it froze part way through reading the BIOS. I reset the CMOS and tried again and sometimes get the post screen but other times don't at all. I haven't yet pulled everything apart (thats tomorrow) but am wondering if anyone has anything information about this board from personal experience. I have heard it sometimes doesn't work with the newer processors out of teh box hence the BIOS update, so I might try to put my Pentium D in and see how that goes andsee if I can update the BIOS.

Any input on the board itself is greatly appreciated.

TIA.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby NT50 » Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:08 pm

I am not familiar with Gigabyte boards. All I buy is ASUS.

I woudl try to flash it one more time. If theat does not work then I would pul it out and get another or trade it for an ASUS.
Dogs Have Owners; Cats Have Staff
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 8220
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 4:46 pm
Location: Jackson, TN USA
Real Name: Jeff Replogle

Postby e to the x » Mon Nov 17, 2008 1:38 am

NT50 wrote:I am not familiar with Gigabyte boards. All I buy is ASUS.

I woudl try to flash it one more time. If theat does not work then I would pul it out and get another or trade it for an ASUS.


Thinking about doing just that. I am going to put my Pentium D in right now and see if it posts and is stable in the BIOS with it. It actually froze while I was editing the BIOS too. It also freezes with the recovery console it has...we will see in a bit.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby e to the x » Mon Nov 17, 2008 1:47 am

also going to try my DDR2 RAM and see if it posts with that, just to check.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby e to the x » Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:32 am

its working now...resat the processor and started it up and its ok. installing windows now.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby e to the x » Mon Nov 17, 2008 8:54 pm

Well got windows all isntalled last night. did SP3 as well. Couldn't get the onboard sound to work, but would be using my SB Audigy anyways. I decided to go ahead and RMA the board through newegg despite it finally booting. I purchased the ASUS P5Q3 P45 board to make use of the nonreturnable memory I have that I can't use on the Gigabyte board.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby e to the x » Tue Nov 18, 2008 6:17 pm

New board is in! Old board is RMA'd. Gonna build her tonight after my run.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby e to the x » Wed Nov 19, 2008 2:55 pm

Wow...what a breeze this thing was to get going! No issues what-so-ever. Have XP 32-bit installed and will be installing x64 tonight and running that as my main OS to utilize my 4 gigs of RAM.

Installed CPU-Z because I wanted to check my CPU speed. I am only running at 2.0 GHz. It should be 2.33 GHz. I'll have to figure out what's keeping the speed down like that.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Postby Grav!ty » Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:18 pm

e to the x wrote:Wow...what a breeze this thing was to get going! No issues what-so-ever. Have XP 32-bit installed and will be installing x64 tonight and running that as my main OS to utilize my 4 gigs of RAM.

Installed CPU-Z because I wanted to check my CPU speed. I am only running at 2.0 GHz. It should be 2.33 GHz. I'll have to figure out what's keeping the speed down like that.


Nice system :yesnod: I'd say check for CPU throttling thermal settings in your BIOS. They're the first things I change/disable with a new motherboard and I'm not convinced the frequent voltage changes they cause are good for a CPU.
Image

"The great majority of mankind are satisfied with appearances, as though they were realities, and are often more influenced by the things that seem than by those that are." - Niccolo Machiavelli
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 15790
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:22 am
Real Name: Graham

Postby e to the x » Wed Nov 19, 2008 6:40 pm

Thanks gravity. yeah i ahve to look more into the settings. i was finishing up with the rig at about 1 last night so i wasn't going too in depth just wanted to get the drivers installed and get to bed.
Image
~Main Rig~
Phenom II X6
GA-870a-UD3
8 GB Corsair DDR3-1333
eVGA 9800GT
WD Black 500 GB
WD Black 1 TB
WD Green 1 TB
Seagate 250 GB
W7 x64
~Audio Stream Rig~
Athlon XP 2000+
MSI Motherboard
1 GB DDR-400
SoundBlaster Audigy2
160 GB HDD
WinXP
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 3098
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: Long Island, NY

Return to Hardware and Customizing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests