A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

GeForce ForceWare 185.20 Vista 32-bit beta drivers

Forum rules
Welcome to our modest though robust team of folders! You are all more than welcome to join us or ask specific questions about how to go about folding but please start a new thread to post your questions, this way nothing of importance will be lost and everyone here will help you out.

If you just want to chat folding then the Folding@Home Home thread will be great!

Re: GeForce ForceWare 185.20 Vista 32-bit beta drivers

Postby BILLMCC66 » Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:48 am

It looks as though i will also have to revert to the original drivers,my ppd has dropped dramatically from 7000 to 5500 so it looks as if they are no longer working.
I have not had a crash or any other problems just the drop in ppd.Image
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: GeForce ForceWare 185.20 Vista 32-bit beta drivers

Postby BILLMCC66 » Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:24 pm

I have just received notification from Nvida that a new driver is available, 182.46 beta.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x ... _beta.html
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: GeForce ForceWare 185.20 Vista 32-bit beta drivers

Postby yeshuas » Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:01 pm

BILLMCC66 wrote:I have just received notification from Nvida that a new driver is available, 182.46 beta.

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winvista_x ... _beta.html

I tried this driver and my success or lack thereof is in a thread by that title, but you may have better luck than I
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: GeForce ForceWare 185.20 Vista 32-bit beta drivers

Postby BILLMCC66 » Wed Mar 25, 2009 1:55 pm

I have only just changed over so i will let you know how it goes.
First thing i noticed is when desktop comes up from a re-boot it is ready to work faster than the other beta driver and where i got a very slight delay in changing screens that is back to normal.
STILL LEARNING

LOGIC CAN GET YOU FROM A TO B BUT IMAGINATION CAN GET YOU ANYWHERE
PRO Level 8
User avatar
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 3:17 pm
Location: BELGIUM
Real Name: Bill McCarthy

Re: GeForce ForceWare 185.20 Vista 32-bit beta drivers

Postby yeshuas » Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:22 pm

BILLMCC66 wrote:I have only just changed over so i will let you know how it goes.
First thing i noticed is when desktop comes up from a re-boot it is ready to work faster than the other beta driver and where i got a very slight delay in changing screens that is back to normal.


Another thing I noticed is that my GPU seemed to run a lot cooler, noticeably cooler even OC'd 10 %
Game Over!!!!!!!!
Image
ASUS Maximus V Gene MB
Windows 8 X64; Windows 7 X64; Windows 7 X86
Intel I5-3570K
16GB Corsair Vengeance Ram
eVGA GeForce GTX 550 TI
Corsair GS700 PS
1TB Seagate SATA 6.0Gb HD
Thermaltake Case
Software Development
User avatar
Posts: 5075
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 3:29 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Real Name: Daniel Schmidt

Re: GeForce ForceWare 185.20 Vista 32-bit beta drivers

Postby augie » Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:32 pm

As I thought last night, they released a new core sometime yesterday.

by ihaque on Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:31 pm
There was a bug in the core that interacted with some changed behavior in the 185.20 driver. The good news is that it doesn't appear that this particular error "contaminated" any runs; the effect here was that some results were simply not calculated (and therefore not returned), not that returned results were corrupt. Core execution was faster precisely because not all the calculations were done.

I've released an updated version (1.25) of the core that appears to fix the bug; your clients should automatically update when they get a new 59xx WU assigned, or you can manually force an update by stopping the client, deleting FahCore_14.exe, and restarting. Please reply to this thread if you still see the PPD "doubling" with the 1.25 core, as the core results are definitely missing some returned data under those conditions.

Thanks to mikeb12, Turnoz, and the F@h beta testers for helping me to unravel this issue.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Previous

Return to Distributed Computing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron
cron