A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Firewire or Telephony

Firewire or Telephony

Postby OLDNY » Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:55 pm

Well Dell did it to me once again. I need to put in a new card but have no open slots. So I have two choices, first take out the firewire card or second take out the telephone and fax connection card. Which one do I toss?
:btw: I have a cable modem
Freedom Requires Sacrifices
William Wallace

<a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/6_5_52.gif' alt='POW Flag' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/14/14_3_9.gif' alt='911 Flag' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/14/14_1_102.gif' alt='Proud To Be An American' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/12/12_3_110.gif' alt='Cap 4' border=0></a>
PRO Level 9
User avatar
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 11:58 pm
Location: Jesup, GA & New York, NY

Postby ginogsm » Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:03 pm

Do you use Firewire ? If not you have to choose that. If you do use it then you could take out your PCI modem and install an external to acomplish your needs.
It is your call Ed.
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 4832
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 7:41 am
Location: Frankfurt , Germany
Real Name: George

Postby OLDNY » Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:20 pm

:-? I know it is my call George but I really need help. I have never used the firewire card but I have never used the telephone and FAX card either. What I am to find out is which is more important?
Freedom Requires Sacrifices
William Wallace

<a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/6_5_52.gif' alt='POW Flag' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/14/14_3_9.gif' alt='911 Flag' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/14/14_1_102.gif' alt='Proud To Be An American' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/12/12_3_110.gif' alt='Cap 4' border=0></a>
PRO Level 9
User avatar
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 11:58 pm
Location: Jesup, GA & New York, NY

Postby UjusME » Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:25 pm

I would take out the Modem. If you have cable internet then you will never use it. You may run into something nowadays that will require a firewire port like a camera, scanner, web cam, etc...... So if you get rid of that you kinda shoot yourself in the foot. That's just my opinion. :yesnod:
PRO Level 8
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:04 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby OLDNY » Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:29 pm

thanks, that is what I needed :yesnod:
Freedom Requires Sacrifices
William Wallace

<a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/6_5_52.gif' alt='POW Flag' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/14/14_3_9.gif' alt='911 Flag' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/14/14_1_102.gif' alt='Proud To Be An American' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/12/12_3_110.gif' alt='Cap 4' border=0></a>
PRO Level 9
User avatar
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 11:58 pm
Location: Jesup, GA & New York, NY

Postby UjusME » Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:35 pm

Your Welcome OLDNY. :yesnod:
PRO Level 8
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 12:04 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Postby SCgone » Tue Mar 16, 2004 8:53 pm

Ed, take a good look at your motherboard manual and make sure you don't have onboard firewire connections. It may be that you do, then you can keep both. I don't forsee ever having use for the firewire, so I don't have mine enabled in the bios right now.
Although, on hindsight, that doesn't seem like something Dell would do...LOL
PRO PLATINUM
Posts: 6879
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:59 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA

Postby RRCinci » Tue Mar 16, 2004 9:01 pm

One quick note...if you take out the modem...you'll not be able to fax anything. So if faxing is something that you do(even once in a while) you'll need to keep the modem!

But if it's just there for Internet use...then you'll not need it...at least until you get the cable going out and NEED to check in here to get your daily fix of GO PRO!! Then it's worth it's weight in gold!!

Paul
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

Women and cats will do as they please, and men and dogs should relax and get used to the idea.
-Robert A. Heinlein

longhornrulescensor444 Here

<a href='http://www.pro-networks.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=62589' target='_blank'><img src='http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/4245/pronetkatrinahelp7gs.gif'></a>
PROfessional Member
User avatar
Posts: 1577
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:38 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Postby OLDNY » Tue Mar 16, 2004 9:10 pm

Bob the words Dell and manual do not exist in the same universe. :lol:

I do now have a USB 2 card, so does that make the firewire more expendable? :-?
Freedom Requires Sacrifices
William Wallace

<a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/6_5_52.gif' alt='POW Flag' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/14/14_3_9.gif' alt='911 Flag' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/14/14_1_102.gif' alt='Proud To Be An American' border=0></a> <a href='http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb008' target='_blank'><img src='http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/12/12_3_110.gif' alt='Cap 4' border=0></a>
PRO Level 9
User avatar
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2002 11:58 pm
Location: Jesup, GA & New York, NY

Postby SCgone » Tue Mar 16, 2004 9:17 pm

OLDNY wrote:Bob the words Dell and manual do not exist in the same universe. :lol:

I do now have a USB 2 card, so does that make the firewire more expendable? :-?


I personally would like to keep the modem, if for nothing else, backup for my broadband and having the fax option available. I possibly will never use my firewire.
PRO PLATINUM
Posts: 6879
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2002 11:59 pm
Location: South Carolina, USA

Next

Return to Hardware and Customizing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests