A Digital Age Deserves A Digital Leader

Firefox 2.0 RC3

Firefox 2.0 RC3

Postby weazzle » Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:57 pm

Ok, I realize that RC stands for Release Candidate, and that many people believe this version of `fox 2.0 to be the final release. I was wondering if anyone else noticed that it has a slow memory leak. It takes a while to leak enough memory to cause any problems on the system, but the problem appears to be with memory for tabs not being freed properly. I just wanted to see if anyone else was experiencing this type of behavior from RC3. The fix is simple for me. Close the browser then re-open it. Of course, when you have a session with 15+ tabs, you really don't want to lose all that, and since the restore feature is not available yet for 2.0 I can't afford to close it every time the heap gets drained. Let me know if you are also having problems with this, and if enough people are, I will submit a bug report to Mozilla.
Image
PRO Level 12
User avatar
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 4:55 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM {USA}

Postby augie » Sat Oct 21, 2006 6:30 pm

Ya, I just had 8 tabs open and it took 94MB. After closing 4 of them it's still only at 90MB. IIRC, in RC2, it took only 60 MB with 4 tabs open. This not proof, just some observations that I have made. I just checked it again and it's over 94MB again just in the time I typed this, I am a slow typer.;) OMG it's up to 105MB. :shocked:

EDIT: Back down to 91.5MB now but that's too much memory used. I have 1GB of RAM so it doesn't bother me but it looks excessive.
Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves. -- Carl Jung

eVGA X58 tri-SLI, i7 930 @ 3.8GHz., Corsair 6GB Dominator, Inno3D GTX470, eVGA260
ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2600K @4.60 GHz, 8GB RAM, eVGA GTX 460
Community Director
User avatar
Posts: 7870
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 1:55 am
Location: Laurentians, Quebec

Return to Alpha / Beta Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest